A Stout Lunch at Breckenridge Brewery

June 4, 2009 at 2:27 pm | Posted in Denver Area Restaurants | 3 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I know I’ve written alot about restaurant visits lately, which is not my planned focus for this blog.  I’m suppose to be talking about good recipes!  It seems we can go 6 months without eating out, then all of a sudden we’re everywhere!  Not to worry,  we’ll get over it soon and back in the kitchen. 

When Bob and I scheduled lunch with Sean, we decided on Breckenridge Brewery (5th and Kalamath) since it’s a short walk from Sean’s Studio, Studio 12. 

I was expecting a commercialized chain restaurant feel like Champs…..I’m not at all interested in that type of restaurant.   I was pleasantly surprised to walk into a cozy “local joint” feel brew pub. 

When you walk in the door, you make an immediate left to order at the counter.  The menu includes fun sounding selections such as: Kickin Chicken Sandwich, Whole Hog Kickin.  The “kickin” in these dishes referred to the addition of spicy sausage.  Sounds great. 

Wanting to forego the “white bun” in my lunch, I ordered the very reasonably priced combo, one meat and one side for $5.50.  Bob and I opted for the Carolina Pork.   Talk about an explosion of flavor.  Hand pulled pork marinated in a vineager and spicy based sauce drizzled with their Oatmeal Stout Beer and topped with a serving of Cole Slaw.  Delicious and different than anything I’ve ever tasted.   Sean ordered the turkey with barbeque sauce and sides of green beans and macaroni cheese with bacon.  The mac and cheese looked wonderful…..it all looked very tasty.

I will return and next time I’ll order the Kickin Chickin Sandwich, which is described as:  Hand-pulled light and dark chicken, layered with spicy sausage and drizzled with Oatmeal Stout Barbeque Sauce.  $7.00   Sean was also raving about their Friday special; signature smoked wings just 30 cents each.  Sean said he doesn’t even like chicken wings but loves Breckenridge Brewery smoked wings. 

Even though it’s not the type of place I gravitate to, I surprisingly liked Breckenridge Brewery.  A neighborhood barbecue restaurant featuring meats smoked daily in small batches to ensure freshness, using hickory soaked wood that’s been soaked in their Oatmeal Stout.    And, a brew-pub with award winning beers.  I couldn’t tell you anything about the beer, since I don’t know the difference from lager and ale!  🙂

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. sounds pretty good.

  2. […] 1 year ago today Breckenridge Brewery […]

  3. […] Two Years Ago:  Breckenridge Brewery […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

