There’s An 800 Pound Gorilla In The Room

July 19, 2009 at 10:38 pm | Posted in Beef | 6 Comments
Tags: , , ,

005

See it??? 

 Up there on the top shelf??? 

That 55 gallon drum of Pepperoncini.  Why do I do that?  I get to Costco and fall into that  “this giant jar is only 50 cents more than a small jar is going to cost me at Safeway” mentality.  So, there it sits, a menacing nuisance for two years taking up all that space in my refrigerator.

With the exception of flank steak, I don’t usually dress up a thicker cut of steak other than some mild seasonings and the grill.  I found this recipe and it sounded so interesting I decided to give it a try.  Anything with capers grabs my attention   The flavors here are bold and delicious.

006

Beef Sirloin with Pepperoncini and Caper Relish

  • 2 teaspoons sweet paprika
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1 1/2 pounds sirloin steak (1 1/4 inches thick)
  • 1/4 C. olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic (thinly sliced)
  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced
  • 1 Tablespoon drained capers
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh sage
  • 4 Pepperoncini peppers, seeded and chopped  (gosh, hope I have enough on hand)
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

In a small bowl, combine paprika, sugar salt and pepper.  Pat over steak on both sides. 

In a small skillet, heat olive oil.  Add garlic, onion and sautee until soft, about 3 minutes.  Add remaining ingredients and keep warm to steep the flavors while you grill the steak.  Cook steak about 7 minutes, turning once.  Meat thermeter should read around 130 for medium rare.  Let steak rest for 5 minutes.  Slice and top with relish.

012For a great summer meal, I usually don’t serve anything more than a fresh green salad with a grilled steak,  however, I did serve this with a tangy and sweet corn relish that I needed to use up, which leads me to another “cute bowl alert”  See below.  We served with a Barossa Valley Glaetzer Shiraz Granache.  Most certainly a big enough wine to stand up to that plate bursting with flavors.

016

My cousin Karen found these bowls at T.J. Maxx.  Upon making such a fuss over them at her house, sure enough a birthday present arrived on my doorstep, a box with several of these small servers.  A Polish brand of stoneware, they’re not cheap-cheap, but fairly reasonable.  You just have to keep checking the store to see what new pieces they bring in.

010009

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I buy that gigantic jar as well! But I eat them up…I love them. And those dishes…I’d have to have them too.

    • Did you see those Tracey Porter dishes that Pioneer Woman had on her blog a couple of weeks ago?? Now those I HAVE to have.

  2. I have had gorilla’s, and also monkeys and even a moose or two in my fridge after a trip to Costco. Why, oh why, do we think it’s perfectly reasonable to by the 25 lbs of cottage cheese you will be eating 3 times a day for the next 10 days, the 35 lbs of ground beef you don’t have room for in the freezer, and the 8 gallons of pickled onions you have no hope of using before you retire? Costco must have subliminal messages over the loudspeaker or something…

    I like the relish though. Gonna have to grill me up some flank steak!

    • LOL – ths stupidest thing I ever bought was a gasoline can sized Soy Sauce.

  3. That looks really tasty. By my calculations, at 4 peppers per recipe, you have enough for a lifetime supply! You might just start putting one on the side of the plate for every meal. (like an Italian restarant I liked in Texas). Love the bowl, too. I’ve seen those at TJ Maxx and admired them more than once. 🙂

    • Yup, I’ve used those peppers like 4 times and the jar still looks full. They really pack em in there too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

