Peach Ice Cream

September 6, 2009 at 8:54 pm | Posted in Ice Cream | 3 Comments
Tags:

009

The parade of peaches continues, but this time no clever play on names for this recipe, it’s just straight forward delicious.   I love this peach ice cream, and the part I love most is leaving small chunks of peaches for the final freeze.  The end result is great bits of frozen flavor nestled in the creamy mixture.  I’ve not prepared a no cook ice cream before.  When in the freezing stages it doesn’t set up as firm as a cooked version.  But fear not, after it’s been in the freezer for a while, it sets up perfectly.   This may be my favorite ice cream of the season.

011

6 eggs, beaten
3 1/2 cups white sugar
10 fresh peaches, pitted, peeled and finely chopped
4 cups heavy cream
2 cups half-and-half cream
2.5 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon salt

  1. In large bowl, mix together eggs and sugar until smooth.
  2. Place diced peaches in a large bowl and mash a few times with a potato masher. You want to leave a few small peach chunks.
  3. Stir the peaches into the egg mixture. Stir in cream, half-and-half, vanilla and salt and mix well.
  4. Pour mixture into freezer canister of ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.
3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. MMMMMM!!

  2. Oh, no…huge craving. We used to pick softball-sized peaches from our tree, my mom would put them and whatever else in an old wooden ice cream maker, my brothers and I would turn the handle while my dad burned the chicken on the grill…

    Can I come over and have some of that ice cream? I’m just flat-out inviting myself.

  3. A few years ago, the kids got me an ice cream maker for mother’s day. I made ice cream. Actually it was more like cream with giant ice crystals. I haven’t touched it since. I really should. Tell me I really should. ‘Cause peach ice cream sounds really really good right now.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

