There’s Plain Chicken And Then There’s Tarragon Chicken

September 28, 2009 at 11:41 pm | Posted in Chicken | 26 Comments
Tags: , ,
Steph's Banner

Steph's Banner

First of all before we start talking about Tarragon Chicken, I must mention Another Giant Leap for MANgo Kind.  How flattering to have another blogger try a recipe I posted and then talk about it on her blog!  Plain Chicken did just that.  In August, I wrote about my husband’s birthday party and the many dishes I prepared.  One of those was a version of Fleming’s Steak House Chipolte Macaroni and Cheese.  It caught Steph’s eye and the other day she posted her version and credited me and linked me.  You must visit her site, Plain Chicken.  I love the artwork,  always loved cartoon animals. Steph is an accountant by day and amateur chef by night. She lives in Birmingham, Alabama with her husband and 3 cats, loves college football and cooks up some goooo-od stuff.  Take a look, I guarantee you’ll find something you like.  

001

I don’t like this picture.  The chicken is browned more than it appears, the skin must be browned more than this appears or you’ll end up with that grey limp skin stuff…SHUDDER. I love the flavor of tarragon, a flavor reminiscent of anise. I always put it in chicken and tuna salad sandwiches and love it in potato soup. I used fresh tarragon for this recipe, but also  like to buy dried French Tarragon from our local spice shop in Littleton, Savory Spice.   Be careful when using tarragon, it’s a strong flavor and a little can go a long way.   I just read that tarragon is a perennial and easy to grow, I’ll be planting some next spring.

This is one of those “great find” recipes.  It’s easy, somewhat healthy and bursting with flavor, it’s “French In A Flash”.  Because this dish is simmered, covered for one full hour, it seems the tarragon infuses itself into the dark chicken meat.  I served this simply with a tossed salad brimming with fresh vegetables with a vinaigrette.  Delicious.

Tarragon Chicken
– serves 8 –

Ingredients
8 medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and finely diced
8 chicken legs
8 chicken thighs
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus 1 tablespoon
4 shalots, roughly chopped
2 cloves garlic, smashed
1/3 cup dry vermouth
1/3 cup dry white wine
1 cup low-sodium chicken stock
6 stems tarragon

Procedure
1. Drop tomatoes in boiling water for 10 to 20 seconds, and shock in ice water. Use a paring knife to help you lift off the skin, and then quarter them. Cut out the guts and seeds, then dice. This may seem like an unnecessary step, but it’s really so easy, and the result is a much lighter, sweeter sauce.

2. Season the chicken with salt and pepper. In a braising pan, heat 2 tablespoons olive oil over medium-high heat. Sear the chicken, in batches as necessary, until golden-brown all over. Set the chicken aside, and discard the oil.

3. Add another tablespoon of olive oil to the pan over medium-low heat. Add the shalots and garlic, and sweat just a minute. Add the vermouth and the wine, and simmer to reduce and burn off the alcohol. Add the tomatoes and chicken stock and half the tarragon. Add the chicken back into the pan, and bring the liquid to a boil.

4. Cover and simmer for 1 hour, until the meat is falling off the bone. Boil uncovered for a few minutes at the end if you want to evaporate off some of the liquid. Scatter the leaves from the remaining 3 stems of fresh tarragon over the chicken, and serve piping hot.

adapted from Serious Eats

26 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That looks mad good, tarragon is one of my favorite herbs.

  2. Omygosh, this looks so good! I can almost smell that good chickeny smell!! Definitely going to make this one. Thanks for all the tips on tarragon, too. I picked some from a friends garden this summer and used it on grilled chicken – loved it! I’m adding it to my herb garden as well. Great post!

  3. Thanks for the great recipe. I will be buying some tarragon very soon.

  4. I use tarragon in chicken stock and poultry soups… I have to remind myself, a little goes a long way!

    • Thanks BD. I most certainly will try tarragon in more soups too, after-all its soup season.

  5. Those are wicked good, the work in progress photo is fine, but great ingredients. I want to try this, thanks for posting

  6. Thank you so much for the sweet words and the blog shout out!! I can’t wait to try more of your yummy tried and true recipes!

  7. Hey! Came to this post after reading your comment on our blog – thanks!! We immediately said – “Oooo, let’s make that!” – and we will – soon!! We buy our tarragon (dried) at the Fresh Market – do you have one of those? Super cheap herbs… Happy blogging!

  8. Yum! That looks great. My mom makes a version of tarragon chicken using cream. It’s good, but the cream makes it heavy. Yours looks tasty and light!

    • I’ve made a Tarragon Cream sauce for chicken breasts too, very good and worth the calories! 🙂

      Lea Ann

  9. Delicious! I love a great one pan meal, and those are some great flavours going on!

  10. How do you not like that pciture? it says it all…what a gorgoeus dish! I am going to have to give this a try.

    • I was afraid the skin looked a little unappetizing. :/

  11. I just put tarragon in my tuna today, I love it too. I’m sure it was wonderful in here!

  12. Popped in to say hello! This looks lovely!

  13. I love sun-dried tomatoes and your recipe sounds delicious! thanks for sharing:)

    • Thanks for visiting my blog. Lots more tasty soup recipes up my sleeve. Check back in.

    • Thanks!

  14. Looks absolutely delicious! Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your kind comment 🙂

  15. Great advice on tarragon. I love it but it’s like cologne. A little is great, a lot is obnoxious.

  16. This dish looks so delicious, how I wish I can try some 🙂

    • It’s really good, thanks for the visit to my blog.

  17. Tarragon is such a lovely herb to accompany fish! I don’t think there’s better! 🙂

    • Hmmmm…besides Tuna salad, I don’t think I’ve used it on fish. I’ll have to make a note and do so. 🙂

  18. […] Tarragon Chicken: Simply a tarragon tomato sauce.  Savory. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

