So Easy a Cry Baby Could Make It

October 1, 2009 at 1:07 pm | Posted in Pasta | 14 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

This post finds me propped up in bed on a fluffy pillow and pain medication. This past Friday we went to the Rockies/Cardinals game. It was fan appreciation night with fireworks to take place after the game.  I love fireworks.  I ended up in Denver General Hospital in the 5th inning.  Here’s the Reader’s Digest Version: I was sitting in an aisle seat one minute enjoying the game, chatting with friends and the next minute I felt as if a car had hit me in the back. It seems a man was running with food, down the stairs, lost his footing, became airborne and slammed into my back before landing three or four more steps further down.  I was rushed to the emergency room, x-rays showed no broken bones, probably torn ligaments.  I’ve been in bed since. I’m slowly getting better every day, but can barely walk.  So there ya have it.

Of course this means no cooking.  And yes, I’m being a cry baby about it. 

And let me digress.  “Rushed” to the emergency room is an exaggeration, as the ambulance broke down in route.  I was stuck for about 15 minutes until a replacement ambulance arrived with this poor 25-year-old old paramedic trying to make small talk to take the edge off of a very difficult situation.  “So where do you live?  Any children?  What are your hobbies?  Do you work?  Any pets?”  Bless his little well meaning heart.

Denver General Hospital is quite the place.  They really do a fabulous job.  I was given the choice of Denver General, or one of our South end swanky “resort” hospitals.  I wanted the latter and my husband quickly pointed out “Do you want to go somewhere that’s experienced with trauma (Denver General) or somewhere that can give you advice on plastic surgery (south end resort hospital)”.  I “got it” and agreed on Denver General.  While waiting on x-rays and watching the third shackled prisoner pass down the hall accompanied by an armed police officer, I turned to Bob and said “We should come downtown more often”.  Big mistake, as I learned very quickly that it hurt very bad to laugh. 

OK, well you got more than the Reader’s Digest Version after all.  I am really missing cooking so tonight I hobbled down the stairs, crippled around the kitchen enough to get this to the table.  Oh…Oh…Oh… I almost forgot the foodie part of this whole mess.  As I was being wheel-chaired through the bowels of Coors Stadium to the first aid area, holding my head, looking down, I briefly opened my eyes and all I could see was a hot dog bun smashed and stuck to my leg.  Can you believe it? A missed photo opportunity.

025

 Look at these beautiful vibrant fresh ingredients ready for preparation. 

028

 Some bright red sun-dried tomatoes.

029

Double Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta with Broccoli and  Parmesan Cheese
1 lb. Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta
2 lbs. broccoli, chopped into small florets
5 tablespoons olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
¼ cup coarsely chopped sun- dried tomatoes
½ cup fresh basil leaves, chopped

1. Add broccoli flowerets to a large saucepan of enough boiling salted water to cover generously. Cook, uncovered, over high heat for about 2 minutes. Drain, rinse with cold water. Chop broccoli florets coarsely.

2. Meanwhile, cook pasta in 6-8 quarts of rapidly boiling salted water until al dente (about 8-10 minutes). Drain and transfer to a large serving bowl. Toss with 1 tablespoon olive oil.

3. Heat remaining 4 tablespoons of olive oil in a large heavy skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and sauté for 1 minute. Add broccoli, salt and pepper. Sauté about 2 minutes or until heated through.

4. Add broccoli mixture to pasta bowl and toss. Add sun-dried tomatoes, basil, grate Parmesan Cheese on top.  Taste and adjust seasoning.

Serves 4

Adapted from Pappardelle’s Pasta.

14 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve heard of people getting hit by a foul ball, but never a foul spectator! Hope you heal quickly! Good story, well told! I’m still in shock- my wife cooked dinner last night, and it was good!

  2. Hope you feel better soon. That’s a great story though. Heh.

    Great pasta dish, you can’t beat the simple stuff sometimes.

  3. When life gives you lemons, make “Double Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta with Broccoli and Parmesan Cheese”

    AHHH Baseball and the fall classic. Being a lifetime Cubs fan, and now living in Kansas City, it so nice to know that my Octobers are always free to pursue other concerns.

    And BTW, go read my post today about our buddy buffalo dick (as you probably call him) and you will understand that I am going to get slugged this Sunday morning thinking about you

  4. OMG…that is such a crazy accident…geez. It’s also a blogger’s dream…triumphs or tragedies are always great fodder. But seriously that’s awful and I had to laugh about the hot dog bun! Did the guy have to go to the emergency room? And the broken ambulance…good lord. And pasta? Stay in bed woman.

    • I think the guy did go to the emergency room. Not sure. I’ve been told he had a 6 inch gash on his forehead, bleeding all over the place. That’s all I know.

  5. Well that’s talent. You have the ability to make me laugh and feel awful for you at the same time. Hot dog bun. OMG that made me laugh 😀

    Please, please, please take care of youself and get better soon!!

    *hugs*

    • Bob said food was flying everywhere as the guy was falling, I guess the poor hotdog bun landed inbetween us as he slammed into me. By the way, I have a huge bruise on my leg where that hot dog bun was – lord knows exactly how he slammed into my back and still managed to smash a bun on my leg and bruise it.

  6. Commuting to work this morning, I was all set you email you with a cooking challenge for an event I have coming up. Proud of myself for coming up with a possible ‘solution’ for my croud pleasing food need…at the same time excited at the prospect that you could possibly turn the ‘challenge’ into a blog entry. Yes siree, I was pleased as punch with my cleverness! Turning on my computer, opening my email, seeing that familiar HIGHLANDS RANCH FOODIE notification pop up my excitement grew. Then I read it…the first sentence alone sent my request to the back burner. As I continued to read your ordeal, I could just picture you and Bob and even swore I heard your laugh. I do have to agree with Karen’s comment above, you were successful in making us laugh, yet feel awful for you at the same time. I’ll be thinking of you!!

  7. That’s horrendous – really horrendous! I hope you mend soon. Your dish is just lovely – the colours are gorgeous.

    • I’m mending baby steps at a time. Doctor said I could drive by Monday. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. Oh dear, that sounds terrible! I hope you are ok and feel better soon 🙂 This dish does sound fantastically easy and tasty to cook!

  9. Knowing that you’re okay (well, mostly ok), I have to laugh about the ambulance breaking down. I mean, WHEN DOES THAT HAPPEN TO ANYONE? Great story, although we feel bad for you.

    The dish looks great, nice photography too!

    • I agree, can you believe it? CRAZY. How horrible would it have been if someone seriously ill/injured would have been in that vehicle. Not good.

  10. […] but I’ve been eating very rich fattening foods over the last week, and with no exercise (laid up due to the “flying man” incident).  So I needed something lean and healthy.  Something brothy, and comforting,  a slavic soul […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

