Island Stew

October 17, 2009 at 1:12 am | Posted in Soup | 18 Comments

 

052

 

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have an arsenal of soup recipes. Some are extravaganzas to prepare, and others easy enough to prepare after work on a week night. This is one of those.  I’ve had this recipe for years. I love the flavors and I don’t know how I ever lived without the combination of coconut milk, cilantro and lime.   This all went so fast that I didn’t get many pictures.  Enjoy!

Island Stew
1/2 pound fresh or frozen cod fillet
12 medium shrimp, deveined, peeled, tails removed
2 T. olive oil
1 T. fresh lime juice
salt and pepper to taste
1/2 sweet onion, chopped
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1 to 1/2 jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped
1 14 oz. can chopped tomatoes, undrained
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
2 T. Thai basil, chopped
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
Your favorite bottled hot sauce
Hot rice for serving

047Rinse cod, pat dry and cut into 1 inch cubes.
In a bowl combine 1 T. olive oil, lime juice, salt and pepper. Add fish and toss to coat. Set aside.
In a pan heat remaining oil to medium high and add onions, pepper, garlic, and jalapeno. Cook for 4 minutes stirring occasionally until onion is tender. Stir in the can of tomatoes and the coconut milk. Bring to a boil, reduce heat immediately and simmer uncovered 10 minutes. Stir occasionally.
Stir in shrimp along with fish mixture, Thai basil, and 1/2 of the cilantro. Simmer uncovered 5 minutes or until fish flakes and shrimp are pink.
Serve with hot rice. Sprinkle with the remaining cilantro and sprinkle on some hot sauce if you’d like.

2 generous servings

I wanted to show you another view of the soup so you could see the consistency of the broth049 next to the rice. 

I’m linking this post to Deb in Hawaii’s blog:   http://kahakaikitchen.blogspot.com for her Sunday event called Souper Sunday.  Click on the link to find out more about her website and the Souper Sunday series.

18 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You had me at coconut milk, cilantro, and lime…..

    • LOL I can go with that! Great comment

  2. Looks delish! Deb is awesome, and so are her Souper Sundays posts. Great entry for it!

  3. Oooh, I’m bookmarking this because it looks amazing!

    • It’s really good, and so easy. As always, thanks for stopping by

  4. I’m with you on the coconut milk, lime and cilantro . . . love that combination. This looks amazing and delicious!

    • Harry Nielson tried to tell us years ago! He just forgot the cilantro part. Must not have fit well into the song.

  5. Sounds great for a light summer meal!

    • Well BD, not even bad for an almost light Winter meal. 🙂

      As always, thanks for stopping by

  6. Yum! I always feel seafood and coconut lends itself to an island feel which is nice especially when you’re in the middle of Winter 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by and I couldn’t agree more

  7. What a fantastic dish! I love the coconut milk and seafood combo.

    • I agree, always.

      Thanks for stopping by

  8. This looks like a perfect soup/stew for me–I love all the ingredients and flavors. Thanks for sending it along to Souper Sundays. I just got the round-up posted.

    Aloha,

    Deb

  9. Yikes I am going through your blog posts and realize I would be very happy at your table! I am with my friend Chris, you had me at lime, cilantro, and all other ingredients!

    • Hey Elizabeth, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  10. I made this for dinner tonight. It was fabulous! My grocery store didn’t have any cod, so I ended up with orange roughy and was a bit worried about that, but it turned out great. The blending of flavors was perfect, the fish was very moist, and you just can’t go wrong with fresh shrimp. My hubby gives this two thumbs WAY up. I do think the recipe as you have it is much more than 2 servings, however. With a little bit of rice, I would say this is four generous portions.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

