Chicken Picatta

October 24, 2009 at 1:09 am | Posted in Chicken | 28 Comments

This is one of my favorite, easy, middle of the week meals.  I love lemon, love capers, I love chicken and especially when it’s breaded and tenderly melt in your mouth sauteed. 

I remember heading back to Kansas a couple of years ago to visit my Mom.  I wanted to make this for her so headed out to the local Dillons grocery store to gather ingredients.  No capers.  I stood in horror scanning the shelves in disbelief.  Gathering my wits, I decided to ask for help.  Perhaps Dillons, in the middle of Kansas, didn’t think they should be in the olive/pickle/caper section.  Maybe they thought the little green pickled seeds were a canned vegetable, a bottled fruit, a foreign vitamin supplement?  Surely capers were somewhere misunderstood in that store. 

Upon locating an employee I confidently asked “Can you tell me where the capers are?”  He just stared at me like I was speaking a foreign language.  I added “capers!  They are usually found along side the olives”    Other stockers were called in to help with the search, management eventually became involved,  a store wide search ensued, other Dillons stores in town were called.  It became apparent that capers did not exist in Hutchinson, Kansas.

The next trip back home, I packed my own supply, and a bottle of capers which had already traveled from Spain to the United States, also traveled 450 miles from Denver to Kansas so that Chicken Picatta could make it’s way to Kansas dinner tables.  I’m starting to think I’d like their frequent flyer miles.

Last year however, when Bob and I were shopping in Dillons there stood a supply of capers.  Right there next to the olives.  Do you think I am single handedly responsible for introducing the small foreign pickled berry to the farm lands of south central Kansas.   Even though I doubt that’s the case, that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

017

 Pound the chicken breasts so that they are even in thickness.  I use the smaller side of the pounder as opposed to the pulverizing side.

020

 Salt and pepper and sprinkle with flour, shaking off any excess.

023

Gather the ingredients.

025

027

 Sautee chicken breasts in olive oil until golden on each side.  An important step to the tenderness of this chicken is to cover the skillet and let the meat steam for a couple of minutes.  See full recipe below for complete instructions.

028

 Deglaze with white wine, add garlic and sautee until garlic is starting to brown.

040

Garnish with lemon slices.  The sauce you see on the plate is the sauce from cole slaw edging towards the chicken.  I’m sure it’s trying to sneak up on those capers.

 Chicken Picatta

4 Chicken cutlets
2 Tbs Vegetable oil
1/4 Cup Dry white wine
1 Tbs Minced garlic
1/2 cup Chicken broth
2 Tbs Lemon Juice
1 Tbs Capers drained
2 Tbs Unsalted butter
6 Fresh lemon slices

1. Prepare the chicken for cutlets.  Season the cutlets with salt and pepper; dust with flour, shaking off the excess.  Coat a saute pan with non-stick spray, add vegetable oil and heat over medium high.

2. Saute cutlets 2 – 3 minutes on one side. Flip cutlets over when golden brown on first side.  Cover pan with a heat proof plate and cook 1 – 2 minutes. Transfer cutlets to warm plate; pour off fat from pan

3. Deglaze with wine and garlic.  Cook until garlic is slightly brown and liquid is nearly gone, about 2 minutes.

4. Add chicken broth, lemon juice, capers.  Return cutlets to the pan and cook on each side for 1 minute.  Transfer cutlets to a warm plate.

5. Finish with butter and lemon slices.  Once butter melts, pour sauce over cutlets.

6. Garnish with chopped fresh parsley and serve.

Servings: 4

28 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. mmm . . . this is the recipe you shared with me last winter! We love this dish! And I had to laugh at the “no capers” saga. Welcome to my personal hell. Our little local grocery tries, but they’re no Whole Foods or Trader Joe.

    • Yup, same recipe. And I’m still lovin it.

      Thanks Vic! 🙂

  2. I am making this tomorrow! I saw the capers and bowed down… A total yum on lemon and the rest!

  3. Nam nam nam…how lovely the recipe sounds, and so full of flavour! Totally YUM!

    • You just can’t beat that lemon/caper combo. Thanks for stopping by

  4. Gorgeous–capers, lemon and Chicken Piccata are some of my very favorite things. I had to start buying the jumbo Costco bottle of capers. 😉

    • Oh NO!!! Costco has giant bottles????? You’ll be finding that on my shelves as soon as I can get my hands on it. And by the way, Paradise has a Costco???

  5. Actually, it wasn’t that Dillon didn’t STOCK capers, I remember reading about this in USA Today back then. It seems overnight someone broke into all of the local stores and STOLE every last jar of capers. They never caught the culprit(s).

    It was a real mystery.

    A regular caper caper. (groan…..you knew it was coming didn’t you?)

    • Well Chris, actually I didn’t know it was coming! LOL

  6. Cute story. I used capers once to make a roast, and the remainder of the bottle has been sitting in my fridge unused. Now you’ve given me a great idea on how to use them!

    • GASP!! Capers unused??? You better try this lemon chicken. :=)

      Thanks for stopping by

  7. I wish capers and pesto looked as good as they taste- but they are butt-ugly, don’t you think?

    • Well….now that you mention it. 🙂

      As always BD, thanks for stopping by

  8. Well, there are capers at Dillon’s in Wichita, and if you are the one responsible, thankyouthankyouthankyou! I can just imagine the Dillon’s internal memo:

    Attn all stores: Caper deficiency discovered in Hutchinson store. Situation to be resolved immediately. Stock shelves in all stores. This is a pickled product. Stock next to olives and pickles.

    Thank you
    The Management

    • LOL especially about the part instructing which section!

      As always, thanks for stopping by

  9. Yum, this is one of my favourite meals. Congrats on spreading the caper love!

    • I agree!!! Thanks for stopping by Natashya

  10. That photograph makes them look like “Attack Of The Giant Capers”.

    I like the lemon/caper combo with grilled salmon as well.

    • As a matter of fact it does! How funny.

      Mmmmm – sounds good, next time it’s salmon picatta

  11. Obviously, Dillon’s was just too sophisticated for capers! LOL! This looks delicious!

    • LOL – that’s what it was! Too funny

      As always, thanks for stopping by

  12. Great looking recipe. We do a similar dish that’s roasted, but I’ll have to give your recipe a try.

    When we go on vacation along Lake superior we’ve taken to bringing a little bottle of capers with us. Our favorite smoked fish shop has never heard of them, even though they go so good smoked trout and cream cheese on crackers.

    • Oh that’s right, I used to make a smoked trout appetizer that had capers, I’ll have to dig out that recipe. Thanks for the reminder and thanks for stopping by Dave

  13. I’m totally cracking up because of your story! Too bad you had to stow those babies from CO back here! Being in KS, some ingredients are kinda hard to find, but it’s getting easier for sure. Chicken piccata is a fave of mine. I haven’t made it in a while for some reason. Thanks for reminding me of it!

    • If you ever need anything, I can always load up supplies and meet you in Salina, as we’re turning south to Hutch! HA Thanks for stopping by Shelly

  14. I love chicken picatta – yours looks so good! I thought if capers were available in the Middle-of-Nowhere, Montana, they’d be available anywhere! LOL

    • Well obviously not in the “middle of nowhere” Kansas. Thanks for stopping by Karen.

  15. […] Velveeta. Yes, I’m making fun of Kansas. But on one trip back  home I wanted to prepare Chicken Picatta and spent the better part of an afternoon going to every Dillons store  in Reno County  looking […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

