Halloween, Rode Hard and Rode Kool

November 1, 2009 at 7:42 pm | Posted in Vegetables | 24 Comments
Tags: , , ,
yorkie 4

Britney Spears

Remember a couple of years ago when Brittney Spears was in the news about every 15 minutes with some crazy stunt?  Well my little dog Sammy, dressed up as Britney that Halloween.  He played the part well by sporting a fedora, long wig, rhinestone studded sunglasses, a cropped t-shirt to expose a slightly over-weight belly and of course the mini skirt with no underwear. 

We went to a local doggie Halloween costume party and won 1st place.   Everyone stood in a big circle where each contestant  was to parade around inside of that circle so everyone could see and review the costumes.  I was holding Sammy in my arms, so I just walked to the center, placed him on the ground and took a few steps back and announced “I give you…Brittney Spears”.  I knew he wouldn’t move because those sunglasses freaked him out.  The crowd went wild, clapping and cheering and the rest is history.  It was a proud moment for our household. 

For a reason with a much less interesting story attached to it, Rode Kool has been our Halloween Tradition for years.  I had this at a hotel in Vail, and begged for the recipe.  It’s been so long ago, that I can’t even remember the name of the hotel to credit. 

During the two hours this dish is simmering on the stove, your house fills up with the most wonderful fall spicy aromas you can imagine. 

Gather ingredients

015

Rode Kool

1 large head red cabbage, halved, cored and then cut into wedges about 2 inches across
2 whole apple,  cored and sliced
2 whole pear, cored and sliced
6 whole cloves
8 whole black peppercorns
2 bay leaf
salt to taste and lots of fresh ground pepper
2 thick slices onion
3 T. butter
1/2 cup vinegar
1/2 cup sugar

1. Place cabbage in heavy kettle with apple, seasonings, onion and 2 cups of water.  Peppercorns, cloves and bay leaves should be placed in a cheese cloth bag, tied at the top to secure, so that they can easily be removed before serving.  Simmer, covered one hour. Add butter, vinegar and sugar and simmer one hour longer. At this time I leave the lid just barely ajar to make sure the water evaporates.  Add more water if cabbage becomes too dry, but no more than 1/2 cup at a time. Ad end of cooking time liquid should be entirely absorbed. 

Servings: 12

Rode 001

I served this as a side dish with meatloaf, which will be my next post.  Enjoy.

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Dressing pets for Halloween… Too cool or cruel, only the gods can decide (and come see the torture I put my cats through)

  2. rode kool is cool – never heard of it before but what a great side dish!

  3. Your dog is so adorable! Mine would never stand to be dressed up. She is way too much of a prima donna to let anyone put any clothing on her. Congrats on winning the competition. What a cutie!

    I have never heard of Rode Kool but I imagine the tart and tanginess of it must have been delicious. Can’t wait to see the meatloaf!!

    • Sammy is one of those easy going guys! He’s a sweetie.

      The meatloaf is awesome.

      Thanks for stopping by Joanne

  4. So frickin’ cute!
    I haven’t heard of rode kool before either, sounds very tasty indeed!

    • It’s easy and delicious Natashya. Thanks for stopping by.

  5. Your road cool is very close to a Polish treat we have- Kapuska! The pear is a good idea- I bet it was good eating

    • Thanks BD, I’ll have to do a Google search for Kapuska

      As always, thanks for stopping by

  6. Sounds delicious…. The pic of “Britney” didn’t come up for me 😦

    Sounds hilarious…. our black labs wouldn’t let us dress them up… hell… I bought Santa hats for them one year for a picture… I thought Bubba was going to hide until Easter….

    • You’re really missing out by not seeing that picture.

      No respectable black lab would let anyone dress them up, my guys are Yorkshire Terriers, it comes with the territory 😉

  7. That is hilarious!! Sammy looks awesome… And yum on the cabbage with the cool name 😀

    • Thanks so much and thanks for stopping by!

  8. Those glasses on Sammy are just too much!
    Road Kool looks delicious! Like it that you have pears in it as well as apples.

    • 🙂 I really like the pears in the Rode Kool. If I remember right, the pears were my idea. Thanks for stopping by Barbara

  9. Aww how adorable and yes I do see some definite Britney there! Happy Halloween!!! 😀

  10. I just love this picture of Sammy – such a big sweetie for indulging you like that. Aren’t they great for giving us so much amusement? 😀
    The cabbage dish sounds tasty and different – I love dishes that spice up the house! Cute post!

  11. How adorable! – And that cabbage dish is looking pretty darn good too! 🙂

    • 🙂 Thanks for stopping by Martha

  12. Popped in to say hello! Love the puppy’s costume!

  13. Sammy is so much cuter and cooler in the costume than Britney. The cabbage dish looks great!

    • I think so too Katherine! Thanks for stopping by

  14. […] One year ago:  Rode Kool, braised red cabbage, a Halloween Tradition […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

