MINI MEatloaf

November 4, 2009 at 2:18 pm | Posted in Beef, Sandwiches | 22 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Fall06HeaderI saw mini meatloafs over and Kalyn’s Kitchen and thought it was such a great idea that I had to try it ASAP.  Before you go any further, take a look at her post by clicking HERE.  Also hiding in this post is a fabulous idea of baking these mini meatloafs on a roasting pan that lets the fat drain and drip free of the loaf.  I don’t know about you, maybe I’ve been living in the dark ages, and whenever I make meatloaf I’ve made it in a Pyrex baking dish where is sits simmering in its fat.  Thank you Kalyn! 

Presentation9In addition this post wouldn’t be possible without the generosity of Linda over at Cooking Tip of the Day.  Before you go any further, take a look at her totally professional and informational site that’s also chock full of delicious recipes.  Linda is one of those bloggers that makes us all look good.  A couple of weeks ago, she had a contest and I won not only one but two bottles of Country Bob’s All Purpose Sauce.  Thank you Linda.

008

It's Twins

And last but not least, I’d also like to thank Country Bob and his All Purpose Sauce as this recipe wouldn’t have been possible without it.  Before you go any further, click HERE to learn more about Country Bob and his products.   Country Bob’s is a new product for me.  I really like the flavor.  It’s a kind a of molasses-ie, worcestershire-ie, A-1-ie, unique delicious-ie sauce that I can’t wait to use again very soon.  This stuff really is GOOD.

So let’s get started.  What I’ve done is taken part of Kalyn’s meatloaf recipe and changed it up a bit to accomodate ingredients I had on hand and then added Country Bob’s unique flavor into the mix for the glaze and some flavoring in the meatloaf. 

020
Meatloaf with Rode Kool as a side dish    And a meatloaf sandwich the next day…mmmmm

 

027

Kayln’s, Country Bob, and Lea Ann altered Meatloaf

1 pound  lean ground beef
1 pound ground pork (Kayln used Italian Sausage which I will do next time – yum)
2-3 tsp. olive oil
1/2 cup finely chopped onion
1/2 large green bell pepper, finely chopped
1/2 large red bell pepper, finely chopped
(You could use one red pepper or one green pepper if you prefer)
1 T minced garlic
1/2 tsp. fennel seed
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/2 tsp. dried basil
1/2 – 3/4 cup steel ground oatmeal
salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste
1/2 tsp. onion powder
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
2 eggs
2 T. Country Bob’s All Purpose Sauce

Preheat oven to 375F/190C. Remove the ground beef and pork from refrigerator. Break both bowl apart into a bowl so it can come to room temperature.

Add 2 tsp. olive oil to large non-stick frying pan, add chopped onion, red pepper, and green pepper, and saute until vegetables are starting to soften, about 5 minutes. Decide whether you need to add another tsp. olive oil, then add the minced garlic, ground fennel, dried oregano, and dried basil and saute 1-2 minutes more. Turn off heat and let vegetables cool enough to handle.

Sprinkle oatmeal, salt and pepper, onion powder, garlic powder evenly over the surface of the meat. Wash your hands, then gently mix until seasonings are barely combined with the meat. (You’ll be mixing more when you add vegetables.) Add the cooled onion-pepper mixture, Country Bob’s Sauce and eggs, and mix again, until all ingredients are well-distributed. (Don’t over mix because that will make the meatloaf tough.)  At this time you might need to sprinkle in a little more oatmeal if the texture isn’t just right for shaping the meatloaf successfully.

017

Spray a roasting pan with olive oil or non-stick spray (preferably with holes so fat can drain.) Use a 1 cup measure to scoop out meatloaf mixture and form into balls, then smash down slightly so they stay in place on the roasting pan. Into a bowl, pour 1/2 cup of Country Bob’s All Purpose Sauce.  Using a pastry brush spread evenly over all the surfaces of meatloaf balls. Use additional sauce to baste the meatloaf half way through the cooking process.

Bake meatloaf balls 35-40 minutes, or until meat thermometer registers at least 165F/75C. I rotated the pan and basted with the remaining sauce after about 20 minutes. Serve hot, cutting in half if desired.

I served these alongside the Rode Kool and will be slicing them for Meatloaf Sandwiches the next day for a Bronco Game meal. 

Thanks so much to Kalyn for the fabulous idea, to Linda for the gift and to Country Bob’s for such a  flavorful sauce.  I’m passing My Year On The Grill’s new Inspiration Award to both Kalyn and Linda.   And while you’re at it, make sure you stop by his blog if you’re really looking for inspiration.  😉  Click HERE

cats

22 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. How fun! I’m so glad this idea was a winner for you. Love your pan with the grids that you cooked them on (much nicer than my thrift-store version!)

  2. Love meatloaf! I make a Cajun version that everyone loves. Good Southern comfort food! Congrats to the winners!

    • I have a Cajun version that I’ll make one of these days and post it. It’s a Paul Prudhomme recipe and it is FABulous. I’ll make sure you see it and you can compare with yours. Thanks for stopping by

  3. Country Bob’s is amazing. i have found so many different ways to enjoy it since I’ve tried and it and meatloaf is one of them. Yours looks so scrumptious!

    • Thanks Katherine – I can’t wait to try more recipes too. Thanks for stopping by

  4. Thanks so much for all the wonderful comments about my blog…. I appreciate the shout out.

    Your meatloaf sounds and looks terrific! I will have to try it. I love your blog too… the recipes and pictures are great.

    Thank you for my award… I’m honored!

    • You’re very welcome Linda and thanks for stopping by

  5. You did PERFECT passing the award on. and this is a wonderful recipe. I just got me a couple bottles of Country Bobs, but they are all gone already (yum) wished I saved a little to make these.

    Great post and thanks for the shout out

    • Whew! I’ve never given an award before. Thanks for taking a look and stopping by.

  6. These look wonderful, and your adaptations sounds terrific. Country Bobs is very tasty and I bet this complimented these beautifully.

    • Thanks Donna and thanks for stopping by

  7. Oh they look so cute and delicious! We don’t get Country Bob’s but it sounds great!

  8. So many kitchen tools, so little time! I use mini loaf pans(4 of them), and don’t mind draining the pans all that much!

    • Mini loaf pans are a good idea. Thanks for stopping by BD

  9. Somehow mini and individual portions are always cuter. The meatloaf sandwich sounds great: haven’t had it in years!

    • Love a good meatloaf sandwich. Thanks for stopping by Olga

  10. adorable meatloaves!! The rack is an awesome idea…I could go for a meatloaf sammie right now!

    • Lovelovelove meatloaf sandwiches. Thanks for stopping by

  11. Damn EVERYONE is making meatloaf this week and now I don’t know which version I want to try!!! And gawd, I LOVE meatloaf sandwiches the day after.

  12. I’ve heard about Country Bob’s – glad to see you review it. I can’t wait to try it now. It is on my grocery list to pick up tomorrow!

    • I don’t think I can buy it anywhere in Denver, so when I run out will have to order it, or win some more! 😉

      Thanks for stopping by Steph


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

