Lemon Meatloaf

November 6, 2009 at 1:46 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 17 Comments

019

 

017

I know, I know…you saw the title of this post and said “Good grief, is she STILL sitting around in Colorado talking about meatloaf?!?!?!?!??”  Well yes I am, and doggone-it, people like me. 

This is a continuation (and affirmation) of my last post wherein I found this great idea from Kayln’s Kitchen to make mini meatloafs. Another benefit of this method is that is allowed me to make two different flavors of meatloaf. Three mini-loafs were a rendition of Kayln’s recipe and the other three mini-loafs are my recipe: Lemon Meatloaf.   This is my favorite meatloaf recipe and I’m very pleased to share it with all of you.

In the picture above, the 3 loafs in the back are the Kayln’s, Country Bob, Lea Ann altered loafs and the three in front with the lighter colored sauce are Lemon Meatloaf. Lemon Meatloaf is more delicate in flavor but in no way shy with when it comes to robust.

Lea Ann’s Lemon Meatloaf:

3/4 cup sweet onion, chopped
2 T. olive oil
1 pound ground beef
1 whole egg
1 whole egg white
1 Tbs milk
1/2 C. steel-cut oatmeal
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/8 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
zest of 1 and a half lemon
Glaze:
1/4 cup ketchup
1 Tbs dark brown sugar
2 t. Dijon mustard
1 Tbs fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp Tabasco sauce

1. Saute the chopped onion in the olive oil for 3 min, remove from heat and cool.

2. With a fork, gently toss the onion mixture into the ground beef.

3. Whisk together the egg, egg white and milk.

4. Pour over oatmeal, mix well and toss into the meat mixture along with garlic, parsley, salt, pepper and lemon zest.

5. Using a 1 cup measuring cup, gently press mixture into meatloaf balls. 

6. Mix glaze ingredients together with a whisk or fork and spread evenly over the tops.

7. Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for  about 40 – 45 minutes, basting with glaze after 20 minutes.

8. Let cool a few minutes before slicing.  

Garnish with thin slices of lemon and parsley sprigs.

Servings: 6

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. hey, are you still frozen in???

    • We are not still snowed in. We were housebound for two days, then the snow stopped, the clouds parted, the sun came out and within a few hours we were free to move about the community. 🙂

  2. Meatloaf is a dear, old friend of mine that I will never let go of. It takes care of me when I’m out of time, inspiration and money 🙂
    I’ve made mini meatloaves (meatloafs?) before and the kids love them. It’s like a personal pan pizza. Only it’s meat. And there is no dough. K never mind.
    BTW: I LOVE the snow pictures 😀 I’m just glad I’m to far away to be recruited for shoveling 😉

    • Thanks for stopping by Karen and yes to everything you just said! 🙂

  3. I am loving all the meatloaf recipes! Meatloaf sandwiches are a favorite treat so I always make extra just for that. And I love anything with lemon right in the title. Thanks for posting this three part series!

    • I’ve got two more meatloaf recipes coming. I promise I’ll wait awhile. 🙂

  4. I’m thinking, good grief…is she still sitting around in Colorado eating that red cabbage-looking stuff?

    Which I love, will you make it for me?

    Dan

    • LOL – I’ll make it for you as long as you bring the wine.

  5. The lemon spin is really has my attention. Always looking for new ways to prepare a family favorite. This looks delicious!

    • I just found out Rachel Ray made mini meat loafs with orange marmalade and a citrus gravy. I may not be done with meatloaf yet! 🙂

  6. Whenever I think I want to make meatloaf, I usually just turn it into burgers instead. So kind of like mini meatloaves, but a different shape. I usually don’t think of beef and lemon going together but this sounds really good!

    • It’s good. Thanks for stopping by Joanne

  7. It is definitely mini meatloaf week!
    I love the lemoniness you have added – nice!

    • Thanks for stopping by Natashya. I’m pretty proud of my lemon meatloaf recipe. 🙂

  8. You can never talk too much about meatloaf–love it. I like the idea of the lemon in the meatloaf–very unique.

    • Well good, because I have two more recipes I’ll talk about over the next couple of months. Thanks for stopping by Deb.

  9. Delicious! I love the sound of putting lemon to really lift a meatloaf 😀


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

