Potatoes in Banana Leaves and Shrimp with Lime Zest

December 16, 2009 at 2:51 am | Posted in Potatoes, Seafood | 41 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Steaming Potatoes Cooked In Banana Leaves

I absolutely love this method of cooking potatoes.  I learned this trick a few years ago from a Whole Foods grilling demonstration.  After a sample of the finished product, I couldn’t get to the produce department fast enough to purchase banana leaves and potatoes.  The only place I can find banana leaves right now is at H-Mart in the freezer department. 

Banana leaves are used as a kind of wrap in Thai cooking. Banana leaves not only look beautiful, but also lend a subtle aroma and taste when foods are cooked inside them.  They can be used for grilling,  baking, or steaming foods. While functioning as a wrapping material, they also lend a hint of flavor to your food that is very pleasant. 

With our mountains as a backdrop, it gets dark in Denver around 4:30 p.m. these days.   I usually use the grill for this recipe,  but with our dark days, baking works just fine. 

Potatoes in Banana Leaves: 

  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 6 medium potatoes peeled and thinly sliced, preferably with a mandolin
  • Salt and pepper
  • Ementhaler Cheese
  • olive oil
  • 1 banana leaf (thawed if not fresh)

Lay the banana leaf on a buttered baking sheet.  I also sprayed the top of the banana leaf with Pam.  Scatter potatoes and onion on the leaf.  Toss with a bit of olive oil. Generously add salt and pepper and grated Ementhaler Cheese.  

Fold and make a packet with the leaf and secure with toothpicks.  Bake 350 degrees 30 minutes.  (Depending on the thickness of the potatoes, you may need to bake up to 40 minutes.) 

 

This photo is steamy rather than blurry.  When you first open up the packet, the steam and flavor pleasantly hit you right in the face. 

 

 I served the potatoes with an easy and delicious shrimp dish that I prepared in advance.  I love this recipe. 

Shrimp Salad with Lime Zest: 

1 cup kosher salt
6 cups cold water
2 1/2 lbs medium shrimp, shelled and deveined
3 Tbs heavy cream
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1 1/2 Tbs fresh lime juice
1 1/2 tsp finely grated lime zest
1/4 cup finely diced celery
2 Tbs finely chopped dill
1 Tbs thinly sliced garlic chives
Salt and freshly ground pepper 

1. Bring a large saucepan of salted water to a boil. Prepare a bowl of ice water. 

2. In a large bowl, dissolve the kosher salt in the water. Add the shrimp and let stand for 30 seconds, then rinse well. Add the shrimp to the boiling water and cook until firm and pink, 2 to 3 minutes. Drain the shrimp and transfer to the ice water to cool. Drain again and pat dry. 

3. In a bowl, beat the cream until stiff. Whisk in the mayonnaise, lime juice and zest, and stir in the celery, dill and chives. Add the shrimp and toss well. Season with table salt and pepper and serve. 

Make Ahead.  The shrimp salad can be refrigerated for up to 5 hours.  Serves 4. 

 

 

For dessert tapioca pudding topped with a sprinkle of fresh grated nutmeg.

How bout them bananas – This meal really is so delicious.  The texture and sweet flavor of the potatoes, the fresh creamy flavor of the chilled lime/dill shrimp, and then there’s that tapioca pudding.  Who needs summer.

41 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lots of people grill in banana leaves. I haven’t tried yet, but obviously I need to… great post, makes me want to try

    • Thanks Dave – Can’t wait to read about it.

  2. I’ve never actually grilled anything in a banana leaf although I’ve eaten it and it’s gorgeous! Thanks for the inspiration! 😀

    • I’ve never eaten it – didn’t know you could. Thanks for stopping by Lorraine.

  3. Anything grilled in banana leaves packs a punch! Love that steamy pic, and that shrimp sounds mouthwatering with the lime!!!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I want to learn a lot more about cooking in banana leaves.

  4. Wow, I would have loved to be at your place for this meal! I would have brought a nice Niagara Gewurztraminer to go with it! I have seen banana leaves in the Asian market freezer section.

    • And I most certainly would have helped you drink that nice Niagara Gewurztraimer. I need to learn more about those NE Wines. Thanks for stopping by Natashya

  5. What an unusual and wonderful way to prepare potatoes! I’m looking forward to trying it.

    • Thanks Liz and thanks for stopping by

  6. Banana leaves and potatoes. I may have to have some Sunday with my grilled skewered and whipped donkey.

    • Ha Ha – we’ll see.

      • Care to make a friendly wager?

    • I just made a dessert for the Denver Bronco Fans. It has an apple, because horses may like apples. The dessert is sweet because victory is always sweet. Let’s get it on.

  7. I don’t think I have ever seen banana leaves before but now I will definitely be on the lookout just so I can make these! The potatoes look super delicious.

    And that tapioca pudding – one of my favorite desserts ever!

    • Thanks Joanne

      My Whole Foods hasn’t had them in years and the only place I can find them is my Asian Market. Good luck. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. what an innovative way of cooking potatoes! don’t think i’ve ever seen banana leaves in my store though.

    you’d also be able to do the same thing with tilapia!

    • The only place I can find them is at my Asian Market. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. I love cooking pork in banana leaves, like the puerco pibil we get in Mexico. It add such a great, earthy flavor. I’ll have to give your potatoes a try. That shrimp recipes look like a winner too.

    • Mmmm Pork in Banana Leaves sounds wonderful. I need to find out more.

  10. Not easy, but they sure look great!

  11. Those are the best looking taters and I’ll bet they’re very tasty! As for the shrimp – you had me at heavy cream and mayonaise. 😀 Very nice post, pics and recipes!

    • Thanks Vickie – and as always, thanks for stopping by! Of course I know where to find you if you didn’t stop by! Tee hee

  12. Love those potatoes! Great post.

    • Thanks Penny and as always, thanks for stopping by.

  13. Great post. ! Banana leaves are also used in pupusas, a Central American wrap kinda thing (I’m familiar with them from Honduras…or rather a Honduran restaurant in Colorado)…I used to get them at a place on Broadway that closed down and I was sad…

    The tapioca was Fine looking. Need some. ; )

    I’m all about your blog……….since peach ice cream!

    • I Googled Pupusas. Never heard of it and I’m impressed! I agree, darnit, that the restaurant closed down, we could have shared some Pupusas.

  14. Oh my – that shrimp salad looks killer, Lee Ann! Holy cow!

  15. I love the idea of using banana leaves. They are simple and they impart a very mild flavor into food that are wrapped and cooked within a banana leaves. Delicious!

    • The only think I’ve used them for are these potatoes! I need to branch out…Thanks for stopping by Velva

  16. Great dish, how creative! I’ve seen banana leaves used for Hawaiian BBQ before but not for potatoes. Thanks for sharing this!

  17. Your potatoes sound delicious…I can almost taste them from here! I love cooking in banana leaf…such a unique flavor they impart. Fabulous meal 😀

    • Thanks for stopping by and I agree. I’m looking forward to making more recipes.

  18. So delectable Lea Ann, but I have to admit I am most drawn to the tapioca, one of my favorite desserts!!!!

    • I love tapioca pudding too! LOVE it. Thanks Donna

  19. Wow! This looks awesome.

  20. I am loving those potatoes and I am going to have to try this one. The shrimp looks delicious too.

  21. oh wow Lea Ann this is so cool I must look for banana leaves, oh and I write for an Alaskan seafood company would you like the shrimp recipe to be featured with a link back to you?
    rebeccasubbiah at yahoo dot com

    Rebecca


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

