Sopa Caldosa

December 29, 2009 at 10:59 pm | Posted in Mexican/Southwest, Soup | 28 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This is the soup recipe that I alluded to in my Spanish Deviled Egg post on Monday that will launch the alledged “fit”.    

The comments I typed into the notes section of my computer recipe program indicate the following about this Cabbage Soup:

  1.  That I’ve had this recipe since 1999
  2. “Outstanding”
  3. This is a  popular soup from the Oaxaca Region of Mexico
  4. It features a coarsely ground sausage called chorizo, (pronounced chor-EE-zoh)

#4 indicates to me that “chor-EE-zoh” must have been brand new on my radar in 1999 and that I didn’t want to pronounce it wrong when I approached the meat counter.   There are no notes indicating the origin of this recipe. 

Sopa Caldosa:

2 bacon slices, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
8 cups thinly sliced green cabbage (about 1 pound)
1 cup chopped onion
1 garlic clove, minced
5 cups Chicken Stock or 2 1/2 (16-ounce) cans fat-free, less-sodium chicken broth
1 (15 1/2-ounce) can chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained
1 (14.5-ounce) can whole tomatoes, undrained and chopped
Mexican Chorizo
3 Tbs chopped fresh parsley

1. Cook bacon pieces in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat until crisp. Add cabbage, onion, and garlic; sauté 10 minutes. Add Chicken Stock, chickpeas, and tomatoes. Bring to a boil; reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Ladle soup into each of 6 bowls; top with Mexican Chorizo, cheese and parsley (cilantro).

Servings: 6

Well you all know me well enough by now to know that I substituted cilantro for that parsley. 

This is quick, delicious and somewhat healthy little soup.   I’m sending this over to Deb at Kahakai Kitchen for Souper Sunday.  If you like soup and sandwiches you should check out her blog.  Every Sunday she posts a some great recipes submitted by folks like me.

28 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oooh, I love soup! This one looks wonderful. I’m looking forward to trying it (hopefully it will cure my cold).

    • Oh no, I’ve been lucky so far this year, (knocking on wood) no colds in this household. Thanks for stopping by

  2. I have completely fallen in love with Chorizo, and I know I would love this soup!

  3. Sounds like a fantastic soup full of flavor, I so could use that right now, so chilly here in NJ at the moment.

    • We’ve been pretty lucky in Denver, not such cold temps right now. Thanks for stopping by Donna

  4. This soup looks wonderful! I fell in love with it when I read bacon and then cabbage, then onions and garlic. mmm-mmm-mmm! I’m already having a fit and haven’t even tasted it! 😛
    -MontanaVic
    P.S. I entered your contest! http://montana2.wordpress.com/2009/12/29/bowlio/
    I’m crossing my fingers and my eyes.

    • I just ran over to your site and posted a comment. Great stuff Vic!

  5. This soup sounds fantastic! I adore chorizo.

    I like your notes for the recipe. I think of my blog entries for a given recipe as one big note. More like a diary entry. But still.

    • I agree Joanne – I love my blog for that reason too. A much better reference than my recipe program. Thanks for stopping by

  6. Beautiful, BEAUTIFUL soup!!! Seriously, sounds amazingly delicious…we love our chorizo in this house…and soup, so…. 😀

    • Thanks for stopping by Girlie! I love this soup and it’s even pretty darn easy!

  7. Around here, there is chorizo that looks like a red paste, and chorizo that looks like sausage in a casing- I prefer the latter… In a soup would be sooper!

    • I agree, Safeway sells this “stuff” they call chorizo. In a plastic tube and it’s greasy, runny and red. I don’t like it at all. I buy Chorizo from Whole Foods that is the texture of recognizable sausage we’re used to. Thanks BD

  8. wow what a fantastic soup yum yum

  9. That’s a delicious looking soup on its own but when you add chorizo the yum factor really multiplies! A good chorizo is a wonderful thing indeed 😀

  10. Mmm, delicious! I love that browned chorizo goodness on top!

  11. Hello Lea Ann,
    Happy New year and wishing you all the best for the coming year.

    • Thank you my dear! Same to you and thanks for being one of my readers!

  12. That sounds and looks divine! I happen to have everything needed on hand so I might be making this tonight!

    • It’s pretty darn good and easy. As always, thanks for stopping by Chris

  13. Terrific picture. You really did a nice job with this soup. It looks delicious!

    • Thanks for stopping by Kristi, Happy New Year

  14. Sounds like a super soup!

    Have a Happy New Year!

    • Thanks Linda – Happy New Year

  15. Mmmm….looks very delicious. Would love a bowl of it now. Would be so warming in this cold weather. Thanks for sharing. Happy New Year!

  16. Sounds good – I love cabbage!I am going to have to give this recipe a try.

  17. Anything with chorizo I usually love–this soup looks delicious. Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays. 😉


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

