Hurrah for Bloggers

January 6, 2010 at 11:31 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 44 Comments
Tags: , , ,

 

I can’t even count the number of recipes I’ve bookmarked from all the fabulous food blogs I follow.  I have every intention of trying them all, it’s just a slow process with my “inconvenient day job” (as Dave over at My Year On The Grill calls it). 

So many good recipes, so many talented cooks and not enough time.  

Here’s a few things I’ve tried lately… 4 Down and about 200 hundred to go. 🙂

I saw this recipe for Cashew Chicken over at The Bitten Word. It seemed perfect for a “during the week” meal and easy it was, not to mention delicious. Thanks to Clay and Zach for this recipe. This is definitely one I’ll make over and over. For the recipe click HERE.

LOVED this.  How about this combination:   Butternut Squash, Caramelized Onions Gorgonzola Cheese Omelet with Sage. It sounded so interesting that I just had to give it a try.  Delicious it is.  Such interesting flavors inside that buttery creamy omelet.   Thanks to clever Kevin over at Closet Cooking for this creation.  Take a look HERE for the recipe and a much better photo. 

And how about this Garlic Shrimp with Coconut Sauce -YUM.  Bless her heart, Natashya over at Living in the Kitchen with Puppies posted this the Sunday of the Christmas Holiday weekend just as I SWORE I couldn’t eat one more bite of ham until Easter. 

This recipe is really good.   A combination of sweet, tangy and spicy.  I served it over brown rice and this dish felt so fresh and healthy.  Thanks Natashya. You can find the recipe by clicking HERE.  A keeper for sure.

And Holy Posole – Red Posole for the grand finale.   I saw this over at Homesick Texan and living where I live and loving the food  I love, just knew I HAD to cook it and had to cook it now.  This Posole even made me homesick for Texas and I’ve never even lived there.

I really didn’t tinker with this much.  I added beef stew meat, only because it was in the freezer, along with a ham hock.  Also, didn’t do the dried chili process because I had roasted Hatch chiles in the freezer and then sprinkled with Mexican cheese to finish  Wonderful recipe with earthy, smokey, rich and complex flavors.   

Don’t forget to use corn chips to scoop up all that wonderful flavor.  DEELicious.  Thank you Homesick for this recipe.  You can see this recipe and a great story behind it by clicking HERE

I’m pretty new at blogging, don’t know a lot of things yet, but do  know one thing for sure, I’m loving my new references for great reading and great recipes.  Thank you Bloggers.

44 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Isn’t it great to have so many inspiring recipes? I feel like my meals are planned for me!

    • Yes and thanks for stopping by Christine

  2. Oh that posole…I want it.

    • You’ve got good taste! It’s DEElicious

  3. Heh, I was actually just going over my recipe folder this afternoon. It’s a bit overwhelming…

    I’ve never had posole, but I want some!

  4. Awesome. I have so many on my to try list, LOL! Everything looks delicious.

    • I still want to make your flan! Thanks for stopping by

  5. These look like wonderful recipes. Don’t you just love blogging?

  6. It’s opening a whole other world for me as well – thanks for nagging at me until I started a blog, LA! This is a great post!

    • Thanks Vickie! I’ve decided to make this an ongoing post, as soon as I’ve tried 4 recipes from blogs, I’ll post it.

  7. I agree… it’s great to find so many new recipes

  8. That’s a whole lot of yummy!
    I agree, food bloggers have really expanded my repertoire and taught me so much.

  9. I bookmarked both Kevin and Natashya’s recipes as well. Seeing as how I read their blogs religiously. I haven’t been to the other two…I think it’s time to pay them a visit!

    I love the photos you took of these. So pretty.

    • Thank you Joanne.

      You wouldn’t believe how many of Kevin and Natashy’s recipes I’ve bookmarked. They are fabulous

  10. I know! Bloggers are the best. And you have picked some winners to start with!
    Will we ever cook everything we want to try?

    • Barbara, with all the cookbooks, bloggers and magazines I don’t think it’s possible. But it sure is fun trying.

  11. Nest time, invite me over when you do this so we can compare note! 😉

  12. yeap, I agree… I haven’t used a cookbook for a very long time. Just about any dish that has a name has been blogged and is pretty easy to repeat if blogged well.

    Love your choices, but i am averaging about 100 items a month I want to make… I am over 300

    • Thanks Dave, we’re going to be cookin fools! (like we’re already not)

      As always, thanks for stopping by my blog.

  13. LOL at inconvenient day jobs! 😛 I agree,m a wonderful collection of recipes there that just scream out “comfort food” (or should I have soothingly whisper in a comforting way) 😛

    • Lorraine, I think you had it right the first time. I think they scream. As always, thanks for stopping by.

  14. All of these recipes look delicious. I especially want to try the omelet – Love the flavors going on there. Thanks for following my blog, “A nod is as good as a wink to a blind horse”. I look forward reading through your other creative post.

    • My pleasure! Love your blog. And thanks to you too George.

  15. I have that posole bookmarked too! I’m not a big fan of hominy, so I was hesitating, but it just looks so dang good!

    I had a binder of recipes I had printed to try out at a later date. Now I have 2 binders. I need to just quit my job and cook full time 😉

  16. I echoed your sentiments in last nights post. I feel so fortunate to have you all as a resource!

    • Ditto Chris. Thanks for stopping by.

  17. I like the food blogs because they remind me of food I haven’t had in a while, I learn new techniques, and also learn about more obscure foods I’ve never had!

    • Totally agree BD. As always, thanks for stopping by.

  18. We don’t need cookbooks anymore b/c of all the great food blogs! That soup you made looks great. I need to try it – it is SO cold here; it would really hit the spot!

  19. I can see why you wanted to make these delicious recipes! They look so good.
    Also, thanks for sharing with your foodie friends new blogs to visit.

    You have a great blog! I am looking forward to all of your new posts this year.

    Velva

  20. All four dishes look delicious! Love that posole–it looks so hearty and good!

    • That Posole was to die for. As always, thanks for stopping by Deb.

  21. Thanks for t rying all those recipes and passing them on to us. Can’t wait to try some. I’m like you with a huge list and not enough hours or big enough stomach to try them all fast enough.

    • Unfortunately my stomach is big enough, it’s the time. Thanks for stopping by Judy

  22. I, like you, have so many recipes and so little time!! But I try to see if I can incorporate at least 2 new recipes a week into our menu planning.
    I just found your blog and it is so nice. I enjoyed looking through it!!

  23. Terrific choices from terrific blogs. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  24. Bloggers atr great and I am grateful for their inspiration too. Great post. GREG

  25. All those recipes look fantastic. I don’t know where to start. If I live to 200 I won’t have enough time to try all the recipes I’ve bookmarked. Oh well..that’s the fun of it.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

