Spicy Lentil Soup

March 5, 2010 at 11:07 pm | Posted in Soup | 25 Comments
Tags: , , ,

This recipe comes to you with no story, no history, it’s anecdote free, and no bla…bla…bla from me. I give you just a tasty soup recipe that I’ve had for years.  

Ok, truth is, I’ve had an inCREDibly busy week at work and I just haven’t got any bla…bla…bla left.  I’m on the official countdown to the weekend.

This is pretty easy to prepare. Once you’ve diced and chopped there’s one hour cooking time. Then grab your immersion blender and puree. Top with some onion rings, serve a side of your favorite fresh green garden salad, a chunk of crusty bread and you’ve got a great dinner.  

The vibrant color comes from a combination of the red lentils, carrots and turmeric.  Beautiful to look at and loaded with flavor, I recommend you give it a try. (Did I mention it’s healthy as all get-out?)

Spicy Lentil Soup

  • 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 t. cumin seeds
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 2 stalks celery, sliced
  • 1/2 t. chili powder
  • 1/2 t. turmeric
  • 1 t. ground coriander (plus I added a couple sprigs of cilantro)
  • 6 oz. red lentils (washed)
  • 5 cups of vegetable stock (I used chicken stock)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Fried onion rings and fresh tarragon sprig for garnish (I used those awful canned onion rings and garnished with a sprig of cilantro)

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add cumin seeds. When seeds begin to pop, add onion and cook until golden. Add garlic, carrots and celery and cook gently 10 minutes. Stir in all spices and cook 1 minute, then add lentils.

Pour in stock. Add bay leaf and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 1 hour. Remove bay leaf. Process the soup to a puree. Season with salt and pepper. Gently reheat. Garnish with fried onion rings and tarragon sprig.  Six servings.

I used those canned onion rings because they were in the pantry left over from a mandatory Thanksgiving recipe for Green Bean casserole that I forgot to make. Wouldn’t this be beautiful with real live, real deal fried onion rings? Yum.

Spicy Lentil Soup,

It’s What’s For Dinner.

This soup is on its way across the Pacific to Deb at Kahakai Kitchen for her wonderful segment, Souper Sunday! 

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. lentil soup bla bla bla is one of my favorties bla bla bla and your take on it bla bla bla sounds excellent bla bla bla 🙂

    • Well I’m glad someone has some bla bla bla left in them! As always, thanks for stopping by Larry

  2. MAN this sounds good – I love toasting cumin seeds for soup. I’m definitely going to try this. Do you think brown lentils would taste okay in this? (I’m trying to avoid a trip to town) I can’t wait to try it. I don’t have any canned onion rings, but I’ll bet I can fry a few beer battered rings for my garnish. Thanks for sharing! (pretty shot of the soup!)

    • With all the flavors packed into this soup, I doubt the lentils actually add much to the overall flavor. I’d say use the brown. I think for the first time in my entire cooking life I was out of onions. I really wish I would have had a real onion ring for that photo. Hope you enjoy it.

  3. Great looking soup. I like spicy ones that clear my sinuses out!

    Here’s hoping next week is a better one for both of us.

    • I love my job, and not complaining about being busy, but when it interferes with blogging?!?!? That’s when I put my foot down. As always, thanks for stopping by Chris

  4. Delicious and nutritious, what more could you ask for?

  5. No need to blah, blah when you’re posting a gem like this!
    Funny!

  6. Simple, wholesome…delish. Beta carotene, healthy, nutritious, fragrant….I’m doing the blah blah for you!

    • I so much appreciate your commentary! And it is all of that. 🙂

  7. This is definitely delicious and healthy ;DD

  8. I have never used lentils… You make me feel like I’ve been missing something good!

    • Well, they are healthy. I really don’t know that much about Lentils. As always thanks for stopping by BD

  9. great soup… needs a story ;(

    • It actually did have a pretty good story – had to do with a Historic Lodge high in our Rocky Mountains. As always thanks for stopping by Dave

  10. I hear you on the busy work week! Thanks for a great post!

    • After a good Saturday, I’ve caught my breath and ready to cook and blog some more! Thanks for stopping by Liz

  11. Wonderful soup recipe, can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Boy can I relate! I’ve been looking for a tried and true lentil soup. Can’t wait to try this one!

  13. Your post made me smile. There are plenty of days that I have no “blah, blah” left in me. You posted a great lentil soup recipe.

  14. Your lentil soup is gorgeous–great color! Thanks for sending it to Souper Sundays and joining in this week!

  15. I’ve never tried lentil soup. I think I am missing out.

  16. […] I owe this discovery to a black bean soup that I make in the winter and a post last month by Lea Ann from Mangos, Chili & Z.    Both of these sources suggest heating cumin seeds in a dry pan to release the aromatic goodness […]

  17. I’ve been looking for a wonderful lentil soup recipe and I’ve definatly found it! Thanks for sharing, can’t wait to try!
    P.S. What is souper sundays?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

