Fired Up

May 31, 2010 at 2:50 pm | Posted in Seafood | 30 Comments

My two Webers are definitely front and center stage this weekend. I plan to grill, then I’m going to grill and then I think I’ll grill some more. Let’s take a look.

First out of the chutes is Glazed Shrimp. I wanted to keep it light on Friday evening, as  lunch that day was a big old heavy ham and pumpernickel sandwich. So serving up a side of my leftover Pasta Salad and skewers of Glazed Shrimp sounded PERfect. 

I found a beautiful package of jumbo shrimp which were labeled “Gulf Shrimp”. I was surprised to see these available with this oil tragedy, but the seafood counter was just too busy to inquire about their origin. Perhaps from Texas?

Simple please! I find that when grilling shrimp, size and simplicity matter.  We love the delicate and sweet flavor of shrimp and don’t like to overwhelm them with complicated sauces. Sometimes just a slather of melted butter lightly flavored with garlic is nice. Or a quick baste with some olive oil in which some of fresh herbs have been added.  We also like a light brush of Caesar salad dressing adding a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese at the end. Always love a squeeze of fresh lemon. Obviously the larger shrimp are more practical. The recipe below is about as complicated as I get.

This is a quick and easy recipe, had it for years, it’s my go to “dinner in 10 minutes” entrée. Sweet and tangy and I love the shiny finish that seals in the tender texture of the meat.

Shrimp Glaze

3 Tbs Dijon mustard
2 Tbs honey
1/4 cup lemon juice
2 garlic — minced
1 1/2 pound shrimp, cleaned and de-veined

1. Skewered, brush one side of shrimp with mixture, grill two minutes. Turn and brush, cook 2 more min.

I mean really, can anything be simpler and did I mention tasty?

Simple Glazed Shrimp…

It’s What’s For Dinner.

1 year ago  Sauteed Scallops in Orange Cream Sauce

30 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I like your K.I.S.S. philosophy for shrimp amd I sure hope you’re doing a little grilling this weekend.

    • Oh you just wait Larry, it’s been a grill crazy weekend.

  2. It’s a grillin’ and chillin’ weekend, huh? I love that your a double fisted griller with twin Webers, rock on!

    • I’ve been doing some chillin too Chris. Some things for gas, some things for charcoal.

  3. Oh yum Lea Ann! Can I come to your house???

  4. Grilling is the perfect thing to do on a long sunny weekend like this! The shrimp look awesome…I love that glaze!

  5. Simple and tasty. Two things I love! Sounds yummy =)

    • Thanks GirliChef, and as always thanks for stopping by.

  6. Honey and mustard work like mad with shrimp- hot or cold!

    • I’m liking that thought of cold…I’m thinking like a shrimp cocktail dip?

      • That’s how I use it!

  7. Definitely a grilling weekend with the weather so nice outside. Sounds like a great dressing.

  8. Those look wonderful even after I just got back from the neighborhood bbq!

  9. I want to come grill at your house! The shrimp looks amazing with the pasta salad. I checked out that recipe too. Simple and how can you go wrong with bacon. 🙂

    • Thanks Kristi, that pasta salad is definitely a good one. Thanks for stopping by

  10. Nice. Grilling shrimp should be a national pastime.

    I like to go with a small amount of teriyaki glaze and a squeeze of lime.

    • I’m liking that Teriyaki glaze and lime!!! Next time.

  11. Yum! Those look delicious! I just found you through roti and rice and am your newest follower. You have a great blog!

  12. I am jealous. You own two Webers? I know life isn’t fair.
    Thanks for sharing the shrimp recipe. I will give it a try.

    • I have a gas grill and a charcoal grill. Don’t be too jealous, I stole the charcoal grill at an Ace Hardware sale. A $350 grill for about $70.

  13. whoop whoop… love the grill and shrimp and tortellini… how fun

  14. Oh man, that shrimp glaze sounds PERFECT! I’m saving this in my database to use the next time I have some shrimp on the BB. Beautiful pictures!

    • Thanks Vickie! I think it’s pretty perfect. Let me know what you think when you get a chance to try it.

  15. Love simple dishes on the grill!!

  16. Son in K.C. fell in love with your state- wants to move there someday…

    • When you come to visit you’re welcome to a Colorado style meal from the Highlands Ranch kitchen. (if you behave) :=)

  17. […] One Year Ago:  Simple Glaze For Grilled Shrimp […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

