Chipotle Cheddar Bacon Barbeque Burgers

June 1, 2010 at 11:45 pm | Posted in Beef, From the Grill, Lamb | 27 Comments
Tags: , ,

Located on one corner of our beautiful Coors Field baseball stadium in downtown Denver is the Sandlot Brewery and Rounders Pub. Years ago when we had season tickets to the Rockies Games, we’d always stop in at Rounder’s for a pre-game burger. 

Sandlot was a test brewpub for Coors and Rounders served up your pre-game grub. During Rockies games it is closed to the public and only accessible from inside Coors Field for attendees of the baseball game.  Even when we arrived early for those afternoon games, we’d have to wait almost 45 minutes for a table.   Worth it…for both people watching and the food.

My favorite burger on the menu was their buffalo burger. A bison patty with melted cheese, barbeque sauce and topped with a couple of slices of bacon and  onion.  Easy enough to recreate at home! 

This time I used some Chipotle Cheddar cheese that I bought at Smith’s Market  when I was in Kansas. This cheese comes from Jason Wiebe Dairy in Durham, Kansas. It’s  not only delicious but some of the best melting cheese I’ve ever worked with. It worked like a charm grated for some nachos last week and beautiful on these burgers. Not to mention a great and unique flavor addition to both dishes.

Chipotle Cheddar Bacon Barbeque Burgers

 (didn’t use bison this time)

1/3 pound ground lamb

1/3 pound 85-15% ground beef

2 slices yellow sweet onion

2 slices bacon, fried and sliced in half

Your favorite barbeque sauce

Chipotle cheddar cheese

Mix the lamb and beef together then form two hamburger patties. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and a dusting of Canadian Steak Seasoning. Grill up your burgers, brush buns with butter toast them on the grill and add your cheese towards the end to melt. To build your burger, place burger on the bun, add a little barbeque sauce, some onion and dig in.

Serves 2

Chipotle Cheddar Bacon Barbeque Burgers…

It’s What’s For Dinner!

1 year ago Rick Bayless Short Ribs

27 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. This is a seriously awesome burger! I love that it has barbecue sauce on it…and is part lamb!

    • I learned that “part lamb” trick from Food and Wine. Really makes a nice creamy texture.

  2. You are killing me… AWESOME!

    • You’ll be back at your grill come this August and you’ll be killin me!

  3. Wow – You did do some grilling, that’s a burger – looks like it would take some serious squashing ar a giant mouth to eat it 🙂

    • I’m pleased to report that is “squished” beautifully. Good news since I don’t have a giant mouth. 🙂

  4. Oh man, just the chipotle cheddar has me wanting one of these burgers. Love burgers and love baseball =)

    • Baseball, burgers and Bayless..you are my foodie sister. 🙂

  5. Lamb in burgers sounds so darned good. These look delicious! I’d wait 45 minutes for a table to eat these, too. 🙂

    • The addition of lamb is a trick I learned from Food and Wine. Really gives it a nice texture and flavor.

  6. You had me at chipotle! Add the bacon and cheese and how could you miss! YUM!

  7. That burger looks like a real winner! I do prefer the ones where I don’t have to take my jaw off its hinges to get it in my mouth…

  8. Looks devine!

  9. great burger, lamb and bbque sauce..yum and chipotle cheese oh man awesome

    sweetlife

    • Awesome it was! Now it’s salad’s for the rest of the week! 🙂

  10. OMG. What a photo! I am drooling and it’s still morning! Love the mixture of lamb and beef. Fabulous, Lea Ann!

    • Learned about that mixture from Food and Wine Mag. Really like the texture and flavor it adds.

  11. That’s one awesome burger! Mixing lamb and beef together sounds like a good idea. Yes, places like Sandlot are so busy when there is a game going on. You make me think of another restaurant in Golden opposite the brewery that serves some very tasty lunches too.

    • Thanks Biren! Do you know the name of the restaurant?

      • It’s been a while and I had to do a search on the web. I want to say it is the Old Capitol Grill but am not exactly sure. I remember having a burger there 🙂

  12. I just licked the computer screen.

  13. Chipotle Cheddar Cheese? I need some of that!

  14. I swear that toasting your buns on the grill makes a burger just extra special. We have our hands on some local pepper cheese and manchego cheese that I am looking forward to cooking this week. Your burger looks Rounders worthy!

    • Thanks Chris, and as always thanks for the comment

  15. […] One Year Ago: Chipotle Cheddar Bacon BBQ Burgers […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

