Carmelized Banana Ice Cream

July 5, 2010 at 11:15 pm | Posted in dessert | 25 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I didn’t have Internet service all day yesterday, True Blood was a re-run, it started pouring 15 minutes before showtime so fireworks were cancelled…

What else is there to do but make some Ice Cream.  

One of my fondest memories of celebrating 4th of July was my Dad making vanilla ice cream in one of those old crank ice cream makers.  You know the ones, wood framed, packed with ice and rock salt and lots of good ol American muscle to bring it to just the right consistency…sigh.

I’ve been wanting to make banana ice cream.  I’m pretty much a “plain-vanilla girl” when it comes to ordering ice cream out, but I used to love getting banana milkshakes from the Dolly Madison Store.  Man they’re the best.  Anyone had ’em? 

I’ve not been to Dolly Madison in probably 20 years.  Google tells me there are still a couple of stores in Denver and Dollymadison.com tells me this: “Cakes and pastries fine enough to serve at the White House.” That is how Roy Nafziger, IBC’s founder, described his Dolly Madison® snack cakes at their introduction in 1937. Roy’s fascination with the First Lady Dolly Madison lent him the name and inspiration to create a high quality snack fit for a socialite like Madison yet affordable for everyone.

So there ya have it…wonder if they even still make ice cream?

I love custard based ice cream recipes for homemade.  Let’s get started.

  • 2 c. heavy cream
  • 1 C. whole milk
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 t. vanilla

Slowly heat milk in a sauce pan on medium low heat. Do not let it boil, just get it steamy. Meanwhile, whisk sugar and eggs together in a bowl.  When milk is hot, slowly…and I mean slow as you can…drizzle the milk into the sugar/egg mixture, stirring constantly.

Pour the milk, eggs and sugar back into the sauce pan and heat until thickened, again stirring constantly. It should reach the consistency of liquid pudding. Remove from heat and when it reaches room temperature add the cream and vanilla. Refrigerate overnight so that the mixture volumizes. Do not short cut this step.

I wasn’t sure how to incorporate the bananas into the ice cream, so thanks to Our Best Bites, here’s how the bananas went into the recipe.

  • 4 ripe bananas, sliced into 1/2 – 1 inch segments
  • 1/4 C. brown sugar
  • 1 t. cinnamon
  • 1 T. butter melted

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. 

On a foil lined pan place the sliced bananas and sprinkle with sugar, cinnamon and drizzle with the butter.

Bake for 20 minutes.  Look at all that ooey banana gooey goodness.   Let mixture cool then puree in a food processor.

When completely cooled, add to the ice cream mixture and churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.

All flavors are good very good together, nothing overwhelms, it’s just flat out sinfully delicious. 

So with all that said, I’m going to grilll up some burgers, toss together a salad, have some banana ice cream for dessert and go watch our Highlands Ranch Community Fireworks display.  Happy Delayed Independence Day.

Carmelized Banana Ice Cream

It’s What’s For Dessert For All Your Independence Day Burgers And Dogs

25 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love the idea of this ice cream – its on my list of special flavors I will be making this summer – thanks.

    • I’ve still got your blueberry ice cream bookmarked. I’ve Gotta give that a try too.

  2. I have never even heard of Dolly Madison doing ice cream in any form…but it sounds nummy! Although, not as nummy as yours…omg, drooling!! I wish I had a big bowl right here. right now.

    • The longer it sits in the freezer, the cinnamon is coming on a little strong. I might cut back on that next time. I love ice cream!

  3. Isn’t cooking with Dad the best?! And yes, I love a custard-based ice cream too… much creamier. Thanks for a wonderful post!

  4. i bet Elway has this a lot. It sounds pretty delish! thanks for the inspiration!

    • yes, with his Oakland Raider Cheerleader wife!

  5. No internet PLUS reruns! yikes. Sounds like a call for ice cream for sure.

    Caramelized bananas sound dreamy to me right now! Especially in ice cream. Yum!

  6. Reminds me of a baked banana at Chinese restaurants. I am sure it tastes lovely in an ice cream. Great idea.

    • I’ve never had baked banana ice cream at Chinese Restaurants…where have I been?

  7. I do remember Dolly Madison Ice Cream! I haven’t seen it in a long time though…those caramelized bananas look so good!
    what a wonderful ice cream that must have been!!

  8. That looks outstanding – we made ice cream here yesterday as well, but just your basic vanilla

    • Plain ol vanilla is my absolute favorite.

  9. Here you go again, with your delicious ice cream making self. Naughty, I tell you! 😀 Speaking of naughty, all I could think of was how much this would taste like a banana split and that I could add chopped walnuts and a teaspoon of strawberry jam or chocolate sauce to further that idea. I love this recipe and that CUTE banana dish!

    • I kept wanting to add something on top, but Bob yelled “leave the damn thing alone” … 🙂

      I knew you’d notice that dish!

  10. I would call this Bananas Foster Ice Cream; my all time favorite banana dessert incorporated into ice cream…oh my!

    • hmmmm….I bet a little rum might be pretty tasty in that recipe.

  11. Two of my favorite flavors!

    • I thought about throwing some peanut butter in and calling it Elvis Ice Cream

  12. Yes, I remember the days of cranking out the ice cream manually! I like your “bananas ice cream foster” here, nice…errrr…ice idea!

  13. How about this banana ice cream with a peanut butter sauce on top!!! Elvis would loved it. He is still alive you know.

  14. this sounds like bananas foster ice cream! YUM!

  15. I made this ice cream without any modifications and it was amazing! I’ve made quite a few ice creams for my friends, and they all agreed that this was their absolute favorite! The carmelized banana flavor really comes through. Thanks!

  16. Any ice cream having the words banana and caramelization in the same sentence…has got to be delicious ;o)

    Flavourful wishes,
    Claudia

  17. […] One Year Ago: Carmelized Banana Ice Cream […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

