Baked Zucchini and Tomato

August 7, 2010 at 7:41 pm | Posted in Vegetables | 13 Comments
Tags: , ,

We’re almost into the 2nd week of August and I can guarantee in a few days I’ll be hearing people say  “where has the summer gone???”.

So better get out there and do some of those wacky summery things that you dream about when you’re cooped up and the snow is flying.  Like

  • Taking a walk at midnight
  • Riding a ferris wheel
  • Floating out into the middle of a lake in an inflatable boat
  • Eating popsicles
  • Playing in a public fountain
  • Laying out on the grass and looking up at the stars
  • Slip and sliding in the front yard
  • Streaking the outfield at a major league baseball ballgame (nationally televised game of course)
  • Eating fresh tomatoes and zucchini out of the garden…

…you know…summer stuff.

Let’s make sure that last one is covered. 

Take a look at this easy and delicious dish that my Colorado blogging buddy Kirsten over at My Kitchen In The Rockies posted. This made its way onto our dinner table within a week of reading her post.  

How much easier does it get than scrubbing and slicing a couple of zucchini, slicing up a fresh tomato and the fanning them out in a casserole dish. A sprinkle of salt and pepper.

And for some wacky hot summer fun, I added some hot red pepper flakes. 

Pop it in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes, drizzled with olive oil and topped with grated Pecorino Romano cheese and you look like a pro.

Thanks for this recipe Kirsten, it will be my go-to zucchini side dish.

Baked Zucchini, Summer Squash and Tomato…

It’s What’s For A Summer Side Dish.

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you so much, Lea Ann. I am so glad you enjoyed it is much as we did. I will be making it this weekend again.

  2. Sounds great…like a layered bit of summer! Plus, it’s prettys, too. Delicious, I’m gonna have to try this one!

  3. looks great.. will try it!

  4. Oh wow. Just when I was ready for summer to be over, you have to throw this dish in! Now I never want summer to end again!

  5. Yeah I truly need to do more summer stuff! I love the look of this…it’s so purrty!

  6. This definitely looks fresh, summery, and tasty. It’s so easy too. I really like this and will have to cook it soon.

  7. Oh, I am loving this dish – the zuchs are coming on strong right now and this looks fabulous! We were posting at the same time and I was lamenting the end of summer – now there’s a funny coincidence!

  8. Good list, but I believe the last one is the only one I’ve done – I have floated in the lake on a raft though. Lots of tomato and zuke dishes showing up lately and yours looks very good – I like the extra effort you put into it making the circles.

  9. Very good list. I particularly like the streaking one. I don’t have access to a major league baseball game so maybe I’ll just combine that one with the slip and slide 😉

  10. I just want to ask, Have you ever streaked a Rockies game. When I went to high school streaking was a fad. Streaking was done in the buff. Let me know when you are going to do it. Be careful because you may be tasered and become a you-tube sensation.

    • LOL. I don’t want to be a you-tube sensation nor be tasered nor streak a Rockies Game! Just wanted to see if everyone was paying attention.

  11. Hee hee! I love your list… I admit I’ve been eating a lot of popsicles this year! That dish looks just wonderful 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

