Sublime Key Lime Pie

August 14, 2010 at 7:06 pm | Posted in dessert | 28 Comments
Tags: ,

First, how about this  from Yogi Berra:  

The waitress asked: “How many pieces do you want your pie cut?” Yogi responded: “Four. I don’t think I could eat eight.”

My husband’s side of the family recently gathered for their family reunion.  Bob’s sister and husband Vern hosted the event at their home in Woodland Park, Colorado. To get to Woodland Park (the city above the clouds), we drive South to Colorado Springs, passing the United States Air Force Academy, past Garden of the Gods, Cave of the Winds, wind around beautiful Pikes Peak (America’s most visited mountain), and past the North Pole Santa’s Workshop.  There, don’t you feel like a tourist?

Patricia and Vern were wonderful hosts and layed out a feast…and I mean a feast for lunch. Pulled BBQ Pork and sliced ham for sandwiches, coleslaw, fresh corn on the cob, baked beans, mac n’ cheese,  fresh slices of watermelon…get the picture? (I hope so since I didn’t take any)  :-/

And amongst the array of desserts? Patricia’s Key Lime Pie. I haven’t had this in years and the first bite was every bit as delicious as I remembered…maybe even better than I remembered.

You can use any type of pie crust from homemade to the pre-made versions in the stores like graham cracker or dark chocolate crusts. If you use the chocolate crust, dress up the top of each slice of  pie with a bit of  shaved chocolate.

How can something this easy be this delicious?  Take a look at this line up of sinful ingredients.

  • 1 can Eagle Brand Milk
  • 1 tub Cool Whip
  • 1/2 C. bottled Key Lime Juice or 12 Key Limes, squeezed

Stir all ingredients together and pour into a prepared pie crust. Refrigerate overnight. The pie also freezes well.

I think it takes longer to get the items out of the pantry than it does to throw this pie together.

Patricia’s Key Lime Pie,

It’s What’s For Dessert.

28 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love key lime pie and this sounds very fattening, I mean good.

    • We each ate about 1/2 of a slice and it went straight to the freezer to portion out in future slivers. 🙂

  2. I love key lime pie! It is so refreshing and sweet at the same time!

  3. Oooh! It just so happens that The Niece loves key lime pie! This sounds lovely and easy. Gonna have to make this the next time I see her…

    • You better make a test pie in the meantime for you and Zio.

      • I like your thinking on this 😉

  4. I have made a key lime pie once. I loved it but nobody else in my household did. That was very disappointing. I still think it is a great tasting pie. Maybe I should try a different recipe?

    • I can’t imagine anyone not liking this recipe…cool whip and that thick sugared milk. yum. Tell them it’s something else….like call it a refrigerator pie.

  5. Beeyootiful! And the pie is as pretty as the ginkgo leaf dish. 😉 Seriously, it sounds delicious – I love key lime pie and had no idea it was this easy. Sweet!!

    • I’ve got four of those plates, they make great little salad plates, especially on my periwinkle blue dinner plates. You should give the pie a try, it’s really good….and rich.

  6. I love that Yogi Berra quote. And I love anything that has anything to do with key lime pie. Delicious.

  7. Mmm, I would love this right out of the freezer. Cute quote by Yogi Berra… LOL

    • Good idea Karen. I divided up pieces and they’re in the freezer. Next time I want one for dessert I won’t let it thaw.

  8. I hope so because I didn’t take any…LOL!!! Sounds like a feast I would LOVE! This sounds so nummy…is it sweetened condensed milk or evap milk?? I love key lime cake…but haven’t found a key lime pie I can love yet. Must try! 🙂

    • It’s that ooey gooey sweetened condensed Eagle Brand Milk. I should go back and change the post.

  9. This is one of my very favorite summertime pies! (And I love the yogi berra line!)

  10. Mmm, looks delicious!
    I just found a little baggie of key limes and brought them home. I had never seen them up here before. They are tiny!

  11. This sounds great – I think I could even make it 😉

  12. Ooooo, I’d love a piece of this pie now, even if it is only 8:00 in the morning. I have no excuse not to make this as it is such an easy recipe.
    Looks delicious!

  13. Looks great! Chicken Legs LOVES key lime pie. I love that this is no-bake.

  14. This is my favorite pie in the whole world! yours came out great!

  15. This looks positively luscious! Rich and refreshing. And I love that quote!

  16. We are undeafeted!!!!!!! Yeah!

  17. I would love to have a slice of that. It sounds so simple but looks so yummy!

  18. I could eat eight, no problem ;).

    Great looking pie. I’m a big fan of any dessert that doesn’t require firing up the oven, particularly with the heat we’ve been having.

  19. I love key lime pie and order it every time I see it on a menu. I got a good laugh out of Yogi’s comment on how to cut the pie. I’ll have to remember that one.

    Enjoy the King exhibit. Makes me wish I lived closer to a city instead of out in the woods.
    Sam

  20. Key lime pie is one of my favorites–this looks really good. 😉

  21. Your post made me homesick!!! Many years ago I lived in Denver and beautiful Buena Vista and have often driven past all the tourist areas you mentioned! How I miss the beauty of the mountains, aspens and pines.
    This recipe looks simple and zesty! Can’t wait to offer it up to the husband!
    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

