Black Bean and Chorizo Torta

August 24, 2010 at 2:06 am | Posted in Mexican/Southwest | 19 Comments
Tags:

Christo over at Chez What? is having a sandwich throwdown and this is my contribution to BATTLE SANDWICH. A black bean and chorizo torta.

Torta is a Mexican sandwich, served on an oblong variety of 6-8 inch sandwich rolls, called teleras or bolillos. Telera is a soft, round bread; Bolillo is a torpedo-shaped French roll with a thick and crunchy crust. Tortas can be served hot or cold.

This sandwich would fall into the “soft” bread category and by the time I got it plated, photographed and with both cold and warm items assembled, was served at room temperature.

An easy fix:

For the filling:

  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 1 can black beans, half drained
  • 1 link good quality chorizo sausage
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 2 T. olive oil

In a fry pan, add the olive oil and when hot add chopped onion and cook until tender. Add beans and cook for a few minutes slightly mashing as they warm. Remove casing and cut chorizo into chunks and add to the fry pan along with the cumin. 

For the bread, simply fine chop a fresh jalapeno, grate some cheddar cheese on top of the telera and broil briefly until cheese is melted.

To build the sandwich, simply smear the bottom bun with some Queso Fresco, or goat cheese, and layer on some sliced avocado. Top that with some coarsely chopped cilantro leaves. Add your mixture of black beans and chorizo. A squeeze of lime before you top with the cheesy lid and you’ve got a great sandwich. This large sandwich cut in half served two.

Served alongside some delicious super sweet fresh Colorado corn on the cob.

Black Bean and Chorizo Torta.

It’s What’s For Dinner.

19 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That sounds like a great tasting sandwich. We like anything in the “Mexican” food direction.

  2. Wow, wow, wow . . . if you don’t win with this, I’m going to be surprised. This sounds amazing. Great job, girl!

  3. That sandwich would be welcome at any tailgate party! Even; You know the rest.

  4. Good luck, but the winning is just in participating (as all the losers will say (I read his post, very funny concept).

    I would vote for you! I love the chorizio

  5. Great looking sammie Lea Ann and the corn looks very tempting as well. Good luck in the contest.

  6. This sounds delicious! I’ve been craving all things Mexican lately, I think I’m missing living in Texas. I may need to try this one!

  7. So I’m all busy, clicking & erasing e-mails, your blog pops up, and…whoa. I stop and think, this is something I need to eat. Soon. So, I erased all my other messages and kept this one!

    My elusive Federal Boulevard taco truck…um bus, specializes in tortas….we will go there together soon.

  8. I saw your sandwich over at Chez What’s sandwich challenge. This was a creative and flavorful sandwich. I would really enjoying it.

  9. Mmmmmm… that looks yummy! But then it has chorizo! What’s not to love?

  10. Delicious, Lea Ann! Chock full of everything we love!

  11. Well, you know I love tortas…and everything stuffed inside yours! We actually made black bean and chorizo tacos this morning…I must have sensed that combo from you…well, then hubby sensed it from me, cuz he made ’em 😉 LOL…these look great!

  12. Fantastic picture! My sandwich pictures are sadly lacking. 🙂 This is perfect for Battle Sandwich!

  13. Outstanding!

  14. I really love large hearty sandwiches like this. Oh and refried beans are always a plus in my opinion!

  15. Sounds like a great and hardy sandwich. Love all of the ingredients.

  16. Chorizo, soft bread and black beans makes for a delicious sandwich. Awesome.

  17. Oh, I love tortas. Never had one with beans in it, but this does sound good!

  18. Oh boy, this looks fantastic. There is an excellent Mexican bakery very close to my house that makes fresh bolillos every morning. I can almost taste this filling in one of their wonderful rolls.

  19. […] One Year Ago: Black Bean and Chorizo Torta […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

