Kraut Burgers and Berry Patch Farms

October 10, 2010 at 4:40 pm | Posted in Denver Area Restaurants | 32 Comments

A mid-day field trip to Brighton found us eating Kraut Burgers for lunch and exploring a wonderful certified organic farm.  Let’s take a look.

With my friend Marla as tour guide, Kirsten over at  My Kitchen In The Rockies and I were given a mighty fine tour. You see, Marla’s Russian-German descendents settled in this agriculture rich area of Colorado. She and her family still live in the area and when she suggested that Kirstin and I meet her for a Kraut Burger, followed by a stop at Berry Patch Farms, we couldn’t get it on the calendar fast enough. 

Let’s start with Lauer Krauts, a small family owned and operated  restaurant in Brighton simply serving Kraut Burgers and a soup of the day. You can get your Kraut Burgers three ways; regular, with cheese or with jalapeno. I opted for the original “regular” version. A Kraut Burger is ground beef, onion and cabbage and some seasoning, steaming inside a fresh-baked bun. Cut it in half, squeeze in some spicy brown mustard and you’ve got a delicious treat.

The meal even came with nice visit with the owners who demonstrated a sauerkraut making machine and gave us a view of a special German pastry, kuchen. 

Their kuchen is made with a German berry that can only be obtained by growing it yourself. Smaller than a  raspberry with a more tart flavor. They grow the berries behind the restaurant and keep a list of patrons that want to purchase a slice of kuchen each fall. Doesn’t it look beautiful? I didn’t write down the name of the berry…darn it. Marla actually just commented on this post and informed us the berry is Schwartzbeeren and you can read abit about it at this link:  http://www.volgagermans.net/portland/foods.html

Seating inside is friendly and hospitable and we had such a good time chatting with everyone. Kirsten, my blogging friend is from Germany has only lived in the states for a few years and I honestly didn’t think they were going to let her leave. Too much fun talking about German food.

Lauer Krauts is beaming with small town charm and great food. I’ll definitely be back.

Next stop was Berry Patch Farms, which hosts a barn full of beautiful certified organic produce grown on the land that surrounds it. Take a look at their website to learn more about them.

You can also pick your own at Berry Patch.  We didn’t, but as you can see by the look on this young man’s face, it’s a satisfying task. Man, don’t those raspberries look good. It’s a wonderful  place, with a great selection of produce and a lot of items I had never heard of…lilac and chocolate bell peppers to name a couple. It even comes with a greeting crew of beautiful roosters, a farm dog that chases the roosters and a pig that doubles as entertainment and sheriff.  As you can imagine, I felt like Alice in Wonderland.

Thank you to Marla for a wonderful Foodie adventure, and stick around for a slide show tour.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

32 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Please put this on the list of things to do for our next visit. I grew up on kuchen. It was different but this brought back memories of “Grandma’s Kuchen” :). But have not seen a sandwich like this. Looks delicious!

    • It’s officially been added to the list! 😉 It’s actually out by our airport…very convenient once we’ve picked you up.

  2. Fun! That’s a great day, right there. Those kraut burgers sound so mouthwatering…wish you could send me one.. (is it almost time to meet Rick???)

    • Rick is right around the corner! 🙂 Those burgers are good. They even sell their seasoning that goes on them…have absolutely NO idea why I didn’t buy some.

  3. I had a great time showing you and Kirsten around. Glad you both enjoyed it so much! We’ll have to do it again in the spring. The berries are Schwartzbeeren and there’s a little about them at the bottom of this page. http://www.volgagermans.net/portland/foods.html

    • Thank you so much Marla. I have added a sentence with this information. I cannot wait for a Spring visit. Just a wonderful place.

  4. That sounds like a lot of fun. That kraut burger looks exceptionally good in that sealed bun. The wooden mandolin looks like a complete pain to use but quite authentic. (They didn’t have a food processor hidden in the back, did they? ha ha)

    • Too funny Chris. I’m pretty sure no wood was harmed in the making of this burger, more modern techniques were surely used.

  5. this place looks like so much fun love kuchen and fresh berries fun post sorry its been a while

    • So glad to hear from you. When I switched jobs, my rss feeds in my email went away. Didn’t anticipate that. I’ve been trying to re-subscribe to all of my good friends blogs. Thanks for stopping by, another friend found.

  6. That was such a wonderful day. Marla, Lauer Krat was fantastic. The berries for the “Kuchen” are called “schwarze Johannisbeeren”. That is at least how I understood it. I could be wrong. My mom used to make marmalade out of them. The berries are delicious. Here is the wiki link:

    I just made my “Krauteintopf” that is very similar to the ingredients Marla’s grandma used for the filling of her Krautburgers. Lea Ann, you and Marla should come for lunch to my house one of these days and have a taste. My family loves it.

    I am looking forward to Wednesday!!

    • Thanks for the berry clarification Kirsten. I googled and googled and couldn’t come up with anything. I’d love to have some of that Krauteintopf! I’m really looking forward to Wednesday.

  7. I need to try to make some kraut burgers and some kuchen – they both look awesome!

    • I especially would like to master those Kraut Burgers. Thanks for stopping by Mary and for the comment.

  8. Looks like a fine field trip. I love to eat at little family places that specialize in something and do it well. I could go for a quart or three of those raspberries too.

    • I agree Larry, the only way you could get raspberries that day were to pick ur own. My high heeled sandals weren’t up to the trip.

  9. Wonderful adventure! I would love to visit an organic “pick your own” like that. Great photos of the farm and produce, too. It gave me a good sense of all the goodies.

    As I was reading about the Kraut burgers I had an “aha” moment. Those look like Bierocks – and I’ve made those. My sister lived next door to a German woman who turned her onto the recipe many years ago. It sort of morphed from a roll into a casserole over the years, with the crust on top, but it’s the same dish! Delicious – I’ve made it for Dana and he gobbles it up!

    • I’ve never made Bierocks, but I understand they are the same in just a little bit different form. I would gobble it up too! I’ve just got to give this a try.

  10. Wow! That looks like an amazing trip. I’ve never had that type of berry, but when I’m back to the States I’m going to look for it. Great blog, btw 🙂

  11. Coincidentally enough, our next stop for Regional Recipes is Germany and you’ve definitely given me some inspiration with this post! what I wouldn’t give for a piece of that kuchen…

    • Then you should definitely visit my friend Kirsten’s Blog…lots of wonderful German treats there. You can click on her link in my blog.

  12. OOOHHH!! Kraut burgers sound heavenly. What a fun sounding day! 🙂

    • Thanks Donna, again glad to have you back amongst us!

  13. The kuchen looks amazing. And what a great farm!

  14. Yum, I’ll take one of those kraut burgers any day of the week! When I was a child my grandmother had crocks of kraut fermenting in the basement all winter long. It’s crazy but I love that smell.

    • Cathy, I’ve never been around Kraut making, but understand it’s quite the process. As always, thanks for stopping by.

  15. Great foodie adventure, Lea Ann. I’ve never heard of those berries and I’m going over to read about them in a sec.
    Don’t those raspberries look perfect??

  16. What a great way to spend the day. The Kraut burgers that is interesting-a definite German twist on a traditional hamburger. It looks delicious. The berries, are stunning. Thanks for sharing your day with us.

  17. Looks like you girls had fun – good food and good company. I sure wouldn’t mind a slice of that kuchen.

  18. I’ve been checking out your site and was thrilled to find the Kraut burgers. Despite the fact that I’m not German, I’m very familiar with these baked treasures. They are huge in Nebraska – where they were referred to as “cabbage burgers” or in Kansas as “bierocks.”

    I posted a recipe for them last fall, not too hard to make, especially if you use frozen dough: http://forkfingerschopsticks.com/cabbage-cabbage-burgers-%E2%80%93-runzas-bierocks/

    Thanks for the tip on Lauer Krauts – I will be eating there.

    • I’m from Kansas and when I was telling my mom about this, she said they were bierocks. I’ll have to go find your recipe.

  19. I grew up on Kraut burgers, exactly like the ones shown in the picture, I actually found your website because I googled “Kraut burgers”. I’m from Greeley, Colorado and the elementary school I went to Scott, served Kraut burgers in the school cafeteria!! My Grandmother made amazing German food, and I’ve been trying to track down different recipes. We also had a lot of Kuchen, how is that pronounced? “couga” that’s how I say it. I was excited to see you liked the Kraut burgers, when I explain them to people they look at me crazy, I now live in Portland, OR, no Kraut burgers here. Thank you!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

