Mexican Dinner Menu: Mexican Christmas Eve Salad

December 27, 2010 at 12:52 pm | Posted in Mexican/Southwest, Salads | 42 Comments
Tags: , ,

When researching salad recipes for my Mexican Christmas dinner, this colorful Christmas Eve Salad jumped out with festive enthusiasm in almost every search result.  Each recipe was a little different but the list of ingredients usually included lettuce, beets, oranges, bananas, jicima, pomegranate seeds, peanuts and even small hard candies.  A pinata in a bowl if you will. 

I really couldn’t find much of a history, or where this recipe originated,  just the reoccurring theme of beets and fruit, served in a glass bowl and is a traditional salad during the holidays in Mexico and in the Southwest. All in all, you couldn’t ask for a more eye-catching dish. With the glass bowl and layering of colorful ingredients,  it almost reminded me of an English trifle. It was promptly placed on my menu and all I had to do was pick through the array of ingredients and decide upon a creamy or vinaigrette dressing. Yes, there were as many versions of dressings as salad ingredients. I chose a creamy. Let’s take a look.

Mexican Christmas Eve Salad (my version):

  • 2 red beets, roasted peeled and sliced
  • 2 golden beets, roasted peeled and sliced
  • 1 small jicima, peeled and sliced
  • 1 navel orange, peeled and sliced
  • 1 head romaine lettuce, coarsely chopped
  • Seeds of one pomegranate
  • 1 handful chopped peanuts
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Layer all ingredients in a glass bowl lightly salting and peppering as you go.

I decided on a creamy dressing recipe that I found on one of my favorite blogs, Homesick Texan.

For the dressing:

1/4 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup sour cream (Mexican brand if you can find it)
1 tablespoon lime juice
1 tablespoon orange juice
1 canned chipotle chile, minced
Salt and black pepper to taste

The results:

  • A salad that you practically had to wear sunglasses to look at
  • A salad that was a little hard to dish up, I would chop next time instead of slice
  • A salad that was incredibly festive on my Mexican Feast table
  • The creamy dressing was absolutely delicious, especially using a Mexican style sour cream
  • A delightful concoction that has now found a place in my recipe database (minus the hard candies)

Mexican Christmas Eve Salad…It’s What’s for the Holidays.

42 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Awesome looking salad and while I’d have to try and see, this is right in Bevs wheelhouse and she loved the photo.

  2. what a gorgeous and colorful dish – looks so crunchy and tasty…

    • Thanks Christo, it was just that, crunchy and tasty.

  3. That is such a gorgeous photo… Happy New year!

    • Thanks Dave and Happy New Year to you too.

  4. Great looking salad, so colorful! Love the description “pinata in a bowl!”

  5. This is so colorful and pretty and I would definitely eat it all year round 🙂 🙂

  6. Perfect, Lea Ann! Love the colors.

    Happy New Year to you, my dear friend!

    • Thanks so much Barbara.

  7. This is so pretty! We definitely didn’t have anything this festive looking at our Christmas table. I bet it tasted amazing!

    • Thanks Joanne, it was a very tasty salad.

  8. What a beautiful addition to an already special table.

  9. This salad would be a stunner on a buffet table. I love the vibrant colors and the combination of flavors and textures. What a nice contrast to heavier holiday dishes. Looks yummy, Lea Ann.

    Happy New Year!

    • Thanks Cathy! Plus, I think this salad would work with any kind of dressing. Even one’s favorite vinaigrette.

  10. I’m all about that salad, and that dressing in a jar stuff.

    • Just so you know, that dressing was stirred, not emulsified.

  11. You make the most incredible salads! I just love them. So colorful and packed with veggies that aren’t the same old salad ingredients.

    • I love salads Kristi, so always on the lookout.

  12. I love this colorful salad, a pinata in a bowl.perfect description..

    sweetlife

  13. It’s gorgeous!

  14. I do admit that your salad is one cornucopia of variable colors. It is dressed to impress. Wow oh Wow!

  15. That really is a colorful salad, and the use of the Mexican sour cream is a plus when you have ingredients that make it special. I could eat a pound of beets!

    Bon appetit!
    CCR
    =:~)

  16. Beautiful and yummy looking!

  17. What beautiful colors. This sounds so good. Happy New Year, Lea Ann!

    • Thanks Karen! Happy New Year to You too

  18. I have never seen a salad like that before, what a wonderful combination of flavors!! Thanks so much for sharing it with us!
    Dennis

    • Thank you Dennis, Happy New Year

  19. That salad is gorgeous! So colorful and healthy looking and all served in that beautiful ruby dish (which you’ll need to hide if I come for a visit). I found a recipe for making Mexican crema out of regular sour cream and cream so even I can make that dressing. 🙂
    Your Mexican feast looks really fabulous!

    • That glass bowl is one of my favorites – and antique. You’ll have to share that dressing recipe and welcome back. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

  20. This is festive! What a presentation this would make to the holiday table. The flavor, textures, the colors-oh my!

    Happy New Year!

    Velva

    • Thanks so much for stopping by Velva.

  21. That is one gorgeously bright and beautiful salad. I love how festive it is.

    Have a very blessed and Happy New Year! 😉

    • Thanks so much Deb. It’s my New Year’s Resolution to make more soups and send them over to Paradise for Souper Sunday. 🙂

  22. What a stunning salad to bring a little bit of brightness into my life! I have been eating too many heavy foods and this is exactly what I need. Delicious!

    • Thanks Reeni. Unfortunately I’m still eating the heavy foods along with the salads.

  23. That is one lovely and colorful salad. Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Here is wishing you a Happy, Healthy, and Joyous New Year!

    • Thanks Biren. You too.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

