Toast, Chipotle Mayonnaise, Bacon, Avocado and Poached Egg Recipe

March 29, 2011 at 6:47 am | Posted in Breakfast | 53 Comments
Tags: , , ,

 

Thank you Dara over at Cookin Canuck. All I had to do was look at the title and photo and before reading any further, I  left a comment indicating this would be on my breakfast table Sunday morning…and it was. 

Is this not right up my chipotle adobo obsessed, Mexican food fetished, breakfast crazed, runny egg lovin’ alley?

Came together in a jiff…let’s take a look.

First whip together a simple chipotle mayonnaise. In a bowl combine 1/2 C. mayonnaise, 1 chopped chipotle pepper, 1 teaspoon of the adobo sauce and a good solid squeeze of lime juice (about 2 teaspoons).

Then build your sandwich. A slice of toast slathered with the mayo, topped with two slices of avocado, two slices of bacon…

And top it with a beautiful poached egg.  This was so DEElicious I may have to have it every Sunday for the rest of my life. 

A side note: Do you see that strip of pastry in the background. My friend Karen made this and brought it to our Saturday Front Range Blogger Meetup. I insisted on the recipe and she just posted it over at her site; Eat Drink and Wash Up. You owe it to yourself to check it out. It’s so good that a slice of it may have to be part of  my every Sunday breakfast .

Chipotle Mayo, Bacon, Avocado and Poached Egg Open Faced Sandwich…It’s What’s For Breakfast.

One Year Ago:  Ham Hash With Mustard Cream Sauce

53 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. absolutely perfect egg – I make chipotle mayo a lot – its one of my favorite flavors…this looks like a perfect brunch, lunch or even light dinner…oh heck even an indulgent snack for that matter.

    • Coming from you Christo, I’m going to take that egg compliment and file it away in a safe place. I make chipotle mayo too but just whip it together without a plan. Dara gave me the perfect combo…which turned out so easy.

  2. I’m onboard with everything except the avocado…just never liked ’em.

    • What are we going to do with you Russ??? Yesterday it was yogurt, today Avocado???? 🙂

  3. This is far and above one of the most awesome breakfast sandwiches I have EVER seen. Eggs, chipotle, and avocado. Awesome.

    • Thanks Joanne…awesome it was.

  4. Now THIS is what I call a breakfast sandwich!

    • Me too Susan! Thanks for stopping by.

  5. That’s my idea of breakfast – in fact I’m going into the kitchen right now to make this, so thanks for the inspiration!!!

    • Hope you love it as much as I did Michele. Thanks for the comment and the stop by.

  6. That is one beautiful chipotle inspired breakfast dish. Wow.

    • Why thank you Velva. Now I just needed one of your Bloody Mary’s and it would have been perfect.

  7. Wow – those are some great, super fantastic, professional pictures and the meal looks pretty good too. Seriously, it looks delicious and I really like seeing the yolk running out. I used to think if I broke it by accident, the picture was ruined, but not any more. Tomorrows mission – finish taxs in the am, get out camera and DVD afterward.

    • Why thank you Larry. Unsolicited compliments are always the best. 😉 I really look forward to your new camera adventures and your great, super fantastic, professional photos.

  8. Thanks so much for the indorsement and reference to my pastry. You are too kind. Your egg sandwich looks delicious and your photographs are beautiful. There is just something about a perfectly poached egg that is so elegant in my opinion. Maybe it reminds me of Eggs Benedict. Whatever it is I love it!

    • You’re welcome Karen. We loved that pastry. Now all I have to do is be able to make it. Eggs Benedict was the beginning of my love affair with a poached egg. I’m just glad I learned how to poach an egg perfectly almost every time.

  9. This is so up my alley! You had me at chipotle! Definitely will be on the breakfast table very soon!

  10. Lea Ann – this looks SOOOOO Good!!! I think Sophia the Wren would love it! But not as much as I would. Great photos! Thanks for posting!

    • LOL.. I’m so loving that Sophia The Wren. Thanks Nancy

  11. Love it! Love it! That is exactly how I make my chipotle mayo

  12. Your photos look great here!!!! That camera is working out for sure! YUM – this is the perpect breakfast! I love all the flavors and textures…I will make this!

    • I’m slowly improving…thanks for the compliment. I’m pretty sure if you make it, you’re going to LOVE it.

  13. Fabulous photos! That first one is a killer with the egg drooling down the side.
    I’m not the greatest avocado fan, but it sure looks great in your breakfast dish, Lea Ann!

    • Thanks for stopping by Barbara. I was kinda proud of that drooling egg. 🙂

  14. Beautiful photos! Sure would love that on my plate for breakfast right now. Thanks for stopping by to visit this morning – hope you have a wonderful day!

  15. Now that’s a breakfast. Can’t beat runny yolks, can you? I make something similar in the summer, kinda a BLT with avocado slices instead of lettuce (a BAT?) or guacamole instead of the mayo (BLGT?) Will for sure have to make the chipotle mayo soon.

    • Thanks Dave. I agree, you can’t beat runny yolks. Makes everything so creamy and luscious. Love the abbreviations. 🙂

  16. That combo looks TO-DIE-FOR scrumptious! And your photos are so yummy – such beautiful colors. Pioneer Woman mentioned trying to get “action” shots and I poked the yolk on an egg to practice. 😛 Love it! Also, I canNOT wait to try that mayo. Sounds perfect.

    • Thanks Vickie!!!!! Egg yolks running are most certainly an action shot, I’ll have to start thinking action when I’m shooting food. That mayo is really good.

  17. Ooeey Gooeey Delicious!!! Yum

  18. Ooey Gooey Delcious!! Yum

  19. I saw this on Dara’s site and now yours and wondering if that’s a sign? A sign I need this for breakfast too? I’m not kidding..I thought of you when I saw this there; how could I not?

    So now I have Karen’s dish and another couple and I’m just waiting on the macaroni chicken salad or am I being punished? Really, I promise, Abbie and I are both sorry she showed little manners. I guess I need a sign, “As cute as she may look, she is a dog who takes advantage of any situation possible when there is food involved.” I owe you but her kibbles not all that good. 🙂

    • Barb, that macaroni salad is next up. Abby and I have a lot in common…I take advantage of those food situations too. 🙂

  20. I love this!! Like a tartine, but better! And with bacon!

    • Thanks Food Hound!

  21. Oh, this *does* look good! What a great combination… I could eat it every day… not just on Sunday!

    • Karen, if I didn’t work and could cook weekday mornings, I just might have it every day. 🙂

  22. Absolutely fabulous photos Lea Ann. I could dive into that egg on the screen. I can’t wait to try the chipotle mayo.
    Sam

  23. A lime, some mayo, and either chipotles or Sriracha, and it’s amazing what one can do. Cheers!

    • I like how you think. Love that Sriracha idea.

  24. Lovely. I adore eggs and avocados — especially together.

    From the looks of your pictures, you’re much better at poaching eggs than I am! It’s a work in progress for me, that’s for sure! 🙂

  25. Absolutely beeyootiful! I can just imagine how good this would be once the yolk volcanoes onto the rest of the “island”. YUM!

  26. Chipotle + Bacon + Avocado = Delicioso! You are talking my ingredients chica! YUM!!!

  27. I agree chipotle is fantastic and paired with mayo, it’s makes almost anything heavenly. Great breakfast – how could it not be with chipotle, avocado, and bacon. Although I’d eat this for lunch and dinner too.

    • Andrea, I’ve had chip0tle mayo before, but for some reason this combo is just right. Missed you at the meetup, see you next time.

  28. That really does look amazing!

  29. Simply beaaaaauuuuuuutiful! You have clearly perfected the perfect egg. If I had this for breakfast, I would just get back in bed and call it a wonderful day.

  30. Wow that plate looks so stunning! Everything is perfectly cooked and presented

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  31. […]   Thank you Dara over at Cookin Canuck. All I had to do was look at the title and photo and before reading any further, I  left a comment indicating this would be on my breakfast table Sunday morning…and it was.  Is this not right up my chipotle adobo obsessed, Mexican food fetished, breakfast crazed, runny egg lovin’ alley? Came together in a jiff…let’s take a look. First whip together a simple chipotle mayonnaise. In a bowl combine 1/2 C. m … Read More […]

  32. […] Toast, Chipotle Mayonnaise, Bacon, Avocado and Poached Egg Recipe – Mangos, Chili and Z […]

  33. […] Toast, Chipotle Mayonnaise, Bacon, Avocado and Poached Egg Recipe – Mangos, Chili and Z […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

