Balsamic Reduction Sauce, or Balsamic Glaze Recipe

April 30, 2011 at 5:26 pm | Posted in Chicken, Condiment | 33 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

A few years ago at a highly acclaimed Denver restaurant, I ordered a dish of crab cakes that were served drizzled with a wonderful balsamic glaze. One bite and I was inquiring the waitress for a recipe or method to make the glaze. She exclaimed it to be incredibly easy “Just bla..bla..bla.. then bla..bla.. and then just bla and voila and you’ve re-created an exact replica of this glaze that is sitting in front of you“.

The very next day I went to work in my kitchen to recreate the process. Well, the “bla..bla..bla..then just bla” instructions led me nowhere near the result from the restaurant. 

Recently I blogged about our monthly Wine Time event. Our friend Kathy brought some bottled balsamic glaze to drizzle over some bread and blue cheese. I mentioned in my post how delicious it was, and that it was purchased in Omaha, and I was hoping to find some in Denver. Well, lo and behold, Michele to the rescue! Michele over at  Cooking With Michele, quickly fired over her own recipe for Balsamic Glaze. I was thrilled to say the least.  Michele is a Denver food blogger, a trained and talented chef, a cooking instructor and a sommelier. With credentials like that, I knew her recipe would be spot on. And with her side note of…

“This one’s easy, I promise! The more you let it reduce, the thicker it will be. And while it might not seem too thick when it’s hot, it thickens more when it cools. I keep mine in a squeeze bottle in the fridge to have on hand – good on chicken, fish, pork, beef, parmesan cheese, strawberries, ice cream, cheese and more!”

I couldn’t get to the kitchen fast enough to give it a try. While the sauce was simmering, I skewered some chunks of chicken breast, seasoned with salt and pepper, grilled them and simply arranged them alongside a mixture of baby greens. I drizzled on Michele’s wonderfully aromatic and thick dark glaze over the greens and the chicken and had a simple but incredibly rich flavored meal. 

I can’t thank you enough Michele. I now have my own little squeeze bottle of this black gold in my refrigerator, of which I feel incredibly smug. 

For the recipe, head on over to her site for her Asparagus with Balsamic Glaze recipe.

Balsamic Glaze…It’s What’s for Making Dinner Special.

One Year Ago: Chicken Marengo

33 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Lea Ann, Balsamic reduction sauce is heavenly. I make mine with butter (lots of butter) and tilapia. It is unbelievably good. I need to try Michele’s version since I have green asparagus in the fridge. Sorry I missed the meet up today. Kirsten

    • I bet butter would make it ever that much more heavenly. I’ll be adding some next time I make it. 🙂

  2. Awesome! I love a balsamic glaze on berries. Thanks for the link!

    • I don’t think I’ve ever had it on berries…I think it sounds delicious and can’t wait to get some strawberries in this house.

  3. Crab cakes are tricky for me — I’ve had more bad to mediocre ones than really good ones.

    • I couldn’t agree more Russ, good ones for me are few and far between.

  4. We’re just beginning to appreciate the benefits of a balsamic drizzle – especially Bev – so I believe this is one we’ll have to try out.

    • So many possibilities for uses. I’ll be making Asparagus very soon.

  5. I’m going to have to get a bottle of this in my fridge too! It sounds great.

    • You definitely need a bottle Karen. How about over stuffed mushrooms? yum

  6. So glad you liked it!

  7. This sounds great Lea Ann. Anything with Balsamic Vinegar I’m surely to love. A favorite local restaurant does a broken Balsamic dressing and like your experience their description sounds so easy but I doubt the results would turn out for me as theirs does. Love that Michele helped out too. Will go look at her site.

    • We missed you yesterday Toni! As always, thanks for the comment and yes, Michele’s site is a “must visit”

  8. Love the recipe, LeaAnn, thanks! We use balsamic on everything!

  9. This I gotta try. I have a bottle of balsamic reduction that I purchased several years ago when I, like you, fell in love with it. I’ve often thought “could I make my own?” but never got around to experimenting with it. Thanks Lea Ann for introducing us to Michele. I’m off now to check out her recipe.
    Sam

    • Michele is very talented. I’m sure you’re going to love her site.

  10. I made a balsamic reduction yesterday and now I absolutely swear that I’m going to use it in place of maple syrup on my pancakes. It’s truly amazing stuff!

    • I like the way you think…pancakes would be divine.

  11. Interesting post on a sauce that I promised myself I would explore soon!

    • Thanks to Michele, our exploring time has been done for us.

  12. Thank you for passing this recipe along! I might make this today. I just picked up some of those clear culinary squeeze bottles and I am dying to fill them up w/something! Beautiful skewer too!

    • I need more of those plastic squeeze bottles. I only bought one … a DUH

  13. What an exquisite photo! I loved the token brocooli. 😛
    I clicked over and read that recipe and was very tempted to get up and make it before I even left my comment. (but I’m making a concerted effort to stay on task) Having said that, I am making the asparagus for dinner, but I’ll be trying this glaze on chicken like you did. Yum!!

    • And by the way, thanks for the compliment on the photo.

  14. How silly is that brocolli??? I saw a photo of chicken skewers with a completely different sauce and it had the cutest little biased cut chunk of green onions at each end. No green onions, so I tried it with a small chunk of brocolli. Kinda looks pitiful don’t you think??? 🙂 It’s my favorite beef curry for us tonight. One of my favorite recipes that I make alot and have never blogged.

    • I don’t think it looks pitiful at all – just teasing you. I sure hope you plan to share the curried beef recipe! Being one of your favorites is a pretty darned good endorsement!

  15. Thanks for the great tip about keeping it in a squirt bottle on hand. I’ll have to do that so it’s ready when I need it.

    • You’re welcome Chris!

  16. I want to run to the kitchen right now and make this! Oh, wait… I need to get the recipe 🙂 Hubby doesn’t like balsamic, so more for me! Yay! I think this would be wonderful over chicken – or anything, really.

    • After tasting it, I agree, it would be wonderful over about anything. Thanks Karen.

  17. Mmmmmm…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

