No Recipe Required: Apple and Brie Sandwiches

May 3, 2011 at 8:10 am | Posted in No recipe required, Quick and Easy, Sandwiches | 40 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

 

  • Lay two slices of rustic Italian bread on a sheet pan. 
  • Broil one side until toasted.
  • Remove from oven and spread untoasted side with Dijon mustard.
  • Top with arugula, thin sliced gala apples and two slices of thin sliced Brie cheese
  • Pop it back under the broiler until cheese is melted.

Adapted from Fine Cooking

Apple and Brie Sandwiches…It’s What’s for a Quick Dinner.

One Year Ago: Tarragon Burgers and Citrus Salad

40 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. awesome idea!!!!

  2. looks good.

  3. Oh sigh… you are killing me. I am on this ridiculous 17 day diet… no bread, but what a great idea for 9 days from now (yes, I am VERY actively counting down the days)

    Dave

    • I try…and I say that loosly…”try” to only eat pasta and bread once a week. The rest of my meals are lean meats, vegetables and salads.

  4. I’ve been very into the NO RECIPE REQUIRED thing too! So many dishes are simply the “concept”…the “inspiration”…the “idea!” This sandwich is mouth watering…something I could eat every single day! Lovely!

    • Thank you so much. I work a full time job and many times don’t get home until 6:00, so love having some of these quick dinners up my sleeve.

  5. Delish! Great lunch, although it would be very hard to eat without a glass of unoaked chardonnay.

    • I like how you think Drifter. Touche…Chardonnay.

  6. Beautiful! I would never have thought of having this on a sandwich, but you can bet I’ll be giving it a try. Great photo, too. I’m loving the red napkin. 🙂

  7. I’d skip this because I’m vehemently anti-apple.

    • Ohforpitysake…. and just when I’ve think I’ve heard it all. 🙂

  8. I’d sure eat that, but can’t get Bev interested in brie. great shot of it.

    • Thanks Larry. I’m surprised about Brie. It’s such a delicate flavor. I make an apple and brie omelet that’s to die for. Gosh, don’t think I’ve blogged about that one yet.

      • Sounds like a breakfast I could love – whip it up and lets have a look.

      • You know I will this weekend. I have some of that brie left.

  9. This is wonderful! Stopping by from Vickie’s place 🙂

    • Welcome! And thanks for stopping by.

  10. I love your “No Recipe Required” series. I for one love apples and brie so this is right up my alley. Keep these easy peasy recipes coming.

    • Thank you Karen. 🙂

  11. A local sandwich joint does a riff on this sandwich that I order every time I’m there because I can’t help myself… just add a few slices of proscuitto. You’ll love it too!

    • Oh yeah…proscuitto would be wonderful.

  12. I love brie! this is a champion sandwich

    • Thank you. I’ve still half a wedge of that brie left. I’m going to have to make my brie and apple omelet… and of course blog about it.

  13. I’m with Karen. I’m loving these “no recipe required” posts Lea Ann. Keep ’em coming. We all need a slew of these kinds of “recipes” up our sleeves.

    That’s a mighty fine sandwich. I’m always surprised and pleased at how a little mustard makes things taste special.
    Sam

    • Sam, I was a little leery of how the strong flavor of the mustard would work with the delicate brie and sweet apple and it turned out to be delicious. And along with the peppery arugula…it was a hit.

  14. Now that my arugula is florishing I will have to make this quick sandwich. It sounds so easy and is something my vegetarian daughter will definitely eat. I may try it with pears too since they are my husband’s favorite fruit.

    • I think pears sound even better than apples.

  15. Have you ever been to Toast, right at the end of Littleton’s Main St. as you circle around the block? They have an apple and brie sandwich they serve with a cranberry aioli that I love but of course…who always has cranberry aioli on hand; that would in fact be Recipe Required!

    Looks fabulous Lea Ann and your photo? Yes, I can tell the difference! Beautiful.

  16. […] No Recipe Required: Apple and Brie Sandwiches « Mangos, Chili and Z […]

  17. Great flavors in this… sounds just yummy!

  18. Yes, please! Love this! If I had everything I would go make it now even though I already ate dinner!

  19. You had me at brie. Amazing.

  20. A delicious sandwich, LeaAnn. One of my favorite is a twist on this one…turkey or chicken, apple butter and brie…toasted.

    • That does sound really good Barbara

  21. Gah! No measurements or recipe? How the hell am I supposed to make this?

    (kidding of course)

    • I wondered the same thing… (not kidding) 🙂

  22. Looks wonderful!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

