No Recipe Required: Pasta with Short Ribs and Capers

May 20, 2011 at 6:29 am | Posted in Beef, No recipe required | 24 Comments
Tags: , , ,

 

 

  • Slow cook short ribs in your favorite jarred marinara sauce until fall off the bone tender.
  • Remove ribs from sauce, remove meat from bone and shred. Skim fat from sauce.
  • Toss sauce, shredded beef, halved cherry tomatoes and capers with cooked bucatini pasta.
  • Top with coarse grated Parmesan cheese.

Pasta with Short Ribs and Capers…It’s What’s for Dinner.

One Year Ago: Chicken Marengo

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wow. I think even *I* could do this!!

  2. Delicious. No recipe is needed. Thanks.

    Have a great weekend.
    Velva

  3. This sounds amazing! DH doesn’t like capers but I think he’s just going to have to deal with it–this sounds like tonight’s dinner to me!

    • Those little capers are very easy to pick out… 🙂

  4. YES PLEASE! NOW! Love it! Feel like I can taste it!

  5. Really, Lea Ann, how easy is that?? Love recipes like this! Now, when winter comes around again, I will be making short ribs and have a lovely leftover dish I can make. Too hot down here now. 🙂

    • We’re still in the 30’s here and still craving soup.

  6. OMG – This is right up my alley. I love short ribs and capers. I must try this soon!!

    • I love anything and capers. Thanks Stephanie. 🙂

  7. Hey – Nice blog, just looking around some blogs, seems a pretty nice platform you are using. I’m currently using WordPress for a few of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform similar to yours as a trial run. Anything in particular you would recommend about it?

  8. Grass fed beef short ribs in the freezer – check. Homemade marinara sauce from last summer – check. Pasta – check. I’m making this on Sunday when I get back from BlogHer Food!!!

    • Michele, I got this idea from the restaurant North in Cherry Creek. It was wonderful there and wonderful at my kitchen table.

  9. Great idea LA – meat in marinara – why not short ribs? My mom made sauce with bacon all of the time. Did I say great idea?

    • Mmmmmmm…bacon sounds wonderful. I have actually made this twice, once with my favorite homemade marinara sauce (which wouldn’t qualify for “no recipe”) and once with jarred. Both really good. I got the idea from an upscale Denver restaurant.

  10. Larry said it all; have never thought of putting short ribs in Marinara…why not I’m wondering? Looks great and with our weather something I would love on one of these cool spring? nights.

  11. I make a recipe kind of like this from Lydia Bastianich that is made with pork countrystyle ribs and we LOVE it! I can only imagine how good this is with short ribs.

    • I wouldn’t mind hearing about the differences in the recipes…maybe I’ll Google it. I got this idea from restaurant and just crossed my fingers that it came out.

  12. What a great idea! I love meat in pasta sauce and this sounds like such a delicious way to do that. This must smell heavenly while it’s cooking. I’ve never cooked with buccatini and I think it’s high time I changed that.

  13. Mmm, this sounds good on a cool and rainy day here today!

    • I think you’re sending that cool rainy weather this way Karen. More comfort food in my future. 🙂

  14. I have yet to cook these ribs and in a sauce with pasta, they look scrumptious!

  15. simple perfection!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

