No Recipe Required: Crab Cakes on Spring Greens

June 23, 2011 at 6:50 am | Posted in Seafood | 33 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Purchase pre-made crab cakes from your favorite market. I prefer crab cakes from Tony’s in Denver for their texture and flavor.

Sautee crab cakes in olive oil until cooked through and golden brown.

Place on a plate full of mixed spring greens.

Drizzle with your favorite dressing. For this I prefer a simple lime or lemon vinaigrette.

One Year Ago:  Tangy Flank Steak with Horseradish Cream

Two Years Ago: Mangoes Gone Wild

33 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The spouse loves crab cakes from our local supermarket, but all I taste is fishy breadcrumbs. 😦

    • I hear ya. I think most of them are that way. We’re lucky to have Tony’s market that gives us gourmet quality premade food.

  2. Can you say simple? Awesome. Love when meals come together without a lot of fuss.

    Velva

  3. Shhhh… the pre-made rack at my butchers is a secret I don’t spread around… got to protect the image

    Just too much fun

  4. Love meals like this once in awhile. I wish my market had decent crab cakes…no such luck.

    • No decent crab cakes in Portland???? WHAT? 🙂

  5. Yum! I love this segment to your blog as you know. I love making things as simple as possible. The flavors sound delicious and perfect for this time of year. Loved the photo too!

    • Thanks Toni. I’ve been so dog-gone busy this week, I’ve hardly had time to cook …. pout. 🙂

  6. Looks dee-lish – as always! Love them crab cakes, sometimes I re-shape them into smaller croquettes and re-bread with panko to get even more crusty brown surface.

    • Mick, your crab cakes are huge!!!! Yes, this is one crab cake divided and reshaped into two. Love them.

  7. This looks so good with the greens – a real healthy meal!

    • Thanks Karen! And so easy.

  8. What a great idea for a quick summer meal. Even food bloggers that love to cook need a break every now and then. This looks great.

    • Thanks Karen. This is one Tony’s crab cake reshaped and divided into two. They’re the best tasting I can find in town.

  9. I feel like I should say, ‘Yes Ma’am’ and run over to Tony’s now even!

    I’ve missed you; hope you’re having a great summer and hope we remedy that soon. BTW; guess what I found; just for you. It might be slate, it might hold cheese. I might be in my kitchen with your name on it. 🙂

    • I’m having a great summer Barb and hope you are too. I forgot to ask you about that slate board the last time I was at your house! Yipee and don’t let me forget about it when I see you next.

  10. Thanks for the tip for your favorite place to buy crab cakes. Now that the weather’s warmer (finally), this will be a perfect dinner.

    • Andrea, Tony’s crab cakes are huge! This is one cake divided and reshaped into two. Still a good sized crab cake for a nice meal. See you soon.

  11. Beautiful photo, LA! I love meals like this, but we don’t have pre-made crab-cakes around here. However, I do make a quick salmon patty with canned salmon – must try it with greens and vinaigrette! Whew, isn’t summer busy??

    • Thanks! And as you can guess, my lime vinaigrette was made with the infused oil. 🙂 This past week has been incredibly busy for me. Went to the mountains last weekend and then busy at work. No time to cook. :/

  12. I love quick meals like this especially in the summer! Thanks for the fabulous idea. Lemon viniagrette sounds perfect with it!

    • Thanks Donna and good to see you back in action. Will have to head over to your blog and see what’s cooking. 🙂

  13. Simple, light, and gorgeous! Perfect summer meal! YUM!

  14. We have a store here that makes decent crab cakes and topping a salad with one sounds delicious.

    • I hope you try a lime vinaigrette with it … it was delicious.

  15. Aw, I’m jealous that you can find good crab cakes at your market. Just some of the disadvantages of living in rural America I guess. Maybe I’ll have some luck in Florida this winter. I use lime in my vinaigrettes a lot. Actually I almost prefer them to lemons.

    Your photography, as always, is outstanding Lea Ann. Maybe we could persuade you to come to the get-together next year at Larry’s and be the guest speaker on food photography. You sure know what you’re doing with the camera and food styling.
    Sam

    • I’m with you, I was always disappointed in crab cakes until Tony’s Market here in Denver finally offered some good ones. And my gosh thanks for the photography comment. I would love to come to Larry’s gathering, wish I could have made it this year. But really, I don’t think I’m knowledgeable enough to be a guest speaker. But maybe by this time next year I’ll have learn more about that new camera!

  16. I’m afraid I’m spoiled by a crab cake recipe that I love to make. If I could only find a good store-bought crab cake like yours from Tony’s!

  17. Crab cakes are one of my favorite things ever! I know I have said it before but I love the NO RECIPE REQUIRED posts because they provide inspiration AND I think it is truly how so many of us cook…!!! 🙂

  18. I don’t trust the crab cakes I see in the grocery stores, ha ha . But then again, we don’t have a Tony’s.

    • I don’t trust the crab cakes in grocery stores .. Tony’s knows what they’re doing.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

