Bobby Flay’s Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Lime and Cilantro

July 13, 2011 at 12:14 pm | Posted in From the Grill, Potatoes | 136 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I just discovered grilling potatoes last summer and am loving every crispy smoky slice I’ve plated. Wanting to try grilling sweet potatoes, I Googled and the top recipe was this Bobby Flay Grilled Sweet Potato with Lime and Cilantro recipe.  I saw absolutely no reason to look any further.  Bobby Flay recipes never disappoint and I thought the lime and cilantro were a perfect combination for the sweet flavor. 

This somewhat put me in mind of one of the delicious Mexican snow cones I had in Tucson.  Sweet, salty, spicy and limey. How can you go wrong with that combination? Rather than take the time to parboil I decided to slice the potato lengthwise into big paddles using my mandolin set on 1/4 inch thickness, then I grilled as Bobby’s recipe indicated. They grilled up very nicely. We found these to be a delicious side dish for grilled chicken thighs and a fresh salad.  A wonderful summer meal.  The only thing I would change is to at least double the lime zest and the cayenne. Seemed like there wasn’t enough to go around, and I only used one large sweet potato.  I’d also take the time to wedge and pre-cook before grilling.  That big orange paddle wasn’t as attractive as the white potato paddles I grilled last week.  Let’s take a look.

Bobby Flay’s Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Lime and Cilantro

  • 3 sweet potatoes, unpeeled
  • Kosher salt
  • 2 teaspoons finely grated lime zest
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped fresh cilantro

Directions Parcook the potatoes: Place in a pot of water and boil until fork-tender; let cool. Slice each potato lengthwise into eighths. Preheat a grill to medium or place a cast-iron grill pan over medium heat. Mix 1 tablespoon salt, the lime zest and cayenne in a small bowl. Brush the potato wedges with the oil and season with salt and pepper. Grill until golden brown on all sides (including the skin) and just cooked through, about 1 1/2 minutes per side. Transfer to a platter; immediately season with the salt mixture and sprinkle with cilantro.

Bobby Flay’s Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Lime and Cilantro…It’s What’s for a Summer Side Dish.

136 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’ve never grilled potatoes other than in a foil packet. Must try these!

  2. Very cool, I’d never thought to do that! I have something new to grill!

    • It’s a must Greg.

    • Very cool, just now saw you made Freshly Pressed!

      • I’m completely shocked! Thanks for noticing however. 🙂

  3. Just love Bobby!!! Interesting about the par boiling… i just slice em thinner and cook on the grill.

    Excellent job with the grill marks!!!

    beautiful plate

    Dave

    • I agree Dave, I think I did white potato wedges and don’t think I pre-cooked. I was pretty proud of those grill marks. 🙂 Always good to hear from you.

  4. I put sweet potatos on the grill…whole with the skins on, rubbed with a little oil. I will definitely try Bobbie’s recipe with your suggestions.

    • I’m liking that idea Karen. Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  5. I just had a kids’ cooking class on Monday where we did everything on the grill (from salad to dessert!) and that included grilled potato slices. Never thought to try sweet potatoes, so thanks for the heads up on this recipe!

    • Thanks Michele! One of my favorite salad is a grilled romaine. LOVE it.

  6. Are you watching Food Network Star? I’m loving this season!!

    • I am not watching Food Network Star… Will have to find it and check it out. I don’t watch a huge amount of television and currently am glued to True Blood and Weeds new seasons.

  7. I’m having friends from England for dinner on Sat. night and plan to barbeque chicken and was wondering what special little side I could serve. Thanks so much for solving my dilemma. This looks wonderful.

    • Hope they turn out gorgeous!

  8. How cool is that. I would have never thought to grill sweet potatoes. You got great grill marks Lea Ann, just like Bobby would do. I just read in a magazine that he’s been on the air fifteen years. He’s so cute it’s hard to believe he’s even that old. Love ya Bobby.
    Sam

    • Who would have ever thought that a sweet potato would be the food to get me my first “grill mark” compliment. 🙂

  9. I may not have a grill, but I am definitely roasting these babies up. Lime and cilantro are the perfect flavor pairing for sweet potatoes!

    • Roasting sounds good to me, or even a stove top grill pan.

  10. Like you, I’ve always found Bobby’s recipes to be reliable. We like grilled sweet potatoes and have been looking for something different to do with them and this will fit the bill. That’s a good looking plate of food.

    • And it was a good plate of food. Thanks Larry. 🙂

  11. Those sound…and look…really good! I don’t think I’ve ever made a Bobby Flay recipe. Hmmm.

    • Whaaaaaaaaat? Never made a Bobby Flay? 🙂

  12. Jus became a follower. I found you through “a year on the gril”l and I can’t wait to go through your posts.

    • Yay! And Thanks for stopping by.

  13. Lovely recipe! But please try the Himalayan pink salt from Sustainable Sourcing (here’s their website: https://secure.sustainablesourcing.com ). I just got some and absolutely LOVE the flavor explosion it brings to everything I use it in! And I LOVE Bobby Flay, too!

    • I have some pink Hawaiian salt and love it. Thanks for the heads up for the Himalayan. And thanks so much for stopping by and the comment.

  14. I hear tales of people that can’t stand Bobby Flay and maybe they have some personal experience to back it up; but I have to tell you, his recipes have never disappointed me. Ever. I’m so loving sweet potatoes, wondering why for years we relegated to November only!

    • Uh-oh is that Bobby getting a “Martha” reputation? 🙂 re: Sweet Potatoes, maybe it’s only been in the last years that we’ve come up with better storage methods for sweet potatoes so we can have them year round???

    • Sweet potatoes relegated to November only?

      If you can eat turkey year round, you can eat a yam year round.

      Nothing better than a sweet potato loaded down with brown sugar, butter, cinammon and nutmeg, maybe even with some pecans. Same goes for acorn squash.

      I grew up in the “Yam Capital” of Louisiana, Opelousas, and it was not an uncommon occurrence to see people serving baked yams year round, anywhere in Louisiana.

  15. Awesome! Next up for you is plank grilling sweet or mashed potatoes. It’s a fun presentation.

    • I’m loving that idea Chris!

  16. I’m catching up on my blog reading after being on vacation and I’m finding such good food here! We love sweets – will have to try them grilled!

    • Grilled or roasted – yum.

  17. This sounds so good. We will have to try it once the sweet potatoes in our garden are ready.

  18. OK, now there’s a combo I’d have never tried on my own…

    Many thanks to you and Bobby (we’re like “this” … picture me crossing my fingers here … )

    😉

  19. Guess what new recipe I’m trying this weekend! My wife is Korean and she cannot get enough sweet potatoes… fire-roasted sweet potatoes are sold by street vendors over there.

  20. Wow, this is a MUST-TRY.. looks and sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  21. I’ve got a kind of different version of sweet potatoes, lime, chilli and cilantro. amazing what the same few ingredients can come up with! I’ll be giving your grilled sweet potatoes a try when I tire of my jacket sweet potato and flavoured butter 😉

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/03/baked-egg-in-jacket-sweet-potato-with.html

  22. I love this! This recipe will come in handy when I have vegans over.

  23. Hey, you can grill almost anything.

    Sounds good… except for the cilantro. One of the few herbs I absolutely cannot stand. Always tastes metallic, and yet many restaurants insist on including it in some of their dishes.

    Bobby Flay is overhyped in my impression.

    One of the best take downs of him iirc was his attempt at jambalaya. He tried to do his own version – during a cook-off with a Cajun – and failed miserably. I absolutely loved it. I don’t think very highly of most of these celebrity chefs who go all artsy, experimental or anal with their craft.

    I want food. I don’t want something weird. I don’t care about presentation, it just has to be reasonably edible and taste good.

  24. this looks delicious, congrats on FP!

  25. I love sweet potatoes and I love to grill! What a great combination! I am going to try this tonight! Thanks for the inspiration!

  26. Wow! Mouth-watering photo’s! Think I’m gunna’ try this tomorrow!
    Great post!

  27. Interesting combination, but I bet it did taste good! And you’re right…you can’t go wrong with Bobby Flay! I might have to try this recipe!

  28. This recipe will be tried tonite. Yum. You blog is Great! Thanks for sharing…Lea Ann & also…Bobby

  29. That just looks so good! GREAT post!

    Edwin

  30. Thanks, I’ve taken to growing cilantro and and am constantly searching for uses for this extremely
    prolific herb. The same plant also yelds corriander, by the pint, and it’s roots have their own sweet
    flavor as well. Long live Cilantro!

    • I wish it were prolific in Colorado. Rather ornery to grow here. The roots? Goodness, I’ll have to check those out. Never .. ever thought of that. I absolutely adore Cilantro and love your sentiment. Long Live Cilantro would be a great name for a food blog. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  31. I love this recipe!!!! and your blog is like as if i entered a restaurant! LOVE it so much…you are so good in blogging AND cooking =D

    • Goodness, what a wonderful compliment! Thanks for stopping by.

  32. I’m always looking for new things to do w/ sweet potatoes – this looks amazing!

    • Thanks! I’ll sure be making it again.

  33. oh my gosh this looks fantastic! Thank you for this recipe, I can’t wait to try them!

  34. Looks super yum!

    • Thanks Challagirl.

  35. Oh man, this sounds soooo good! I’m putting sweet potatoes on the shopping list right now 😉

    • Enjoy! And thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  36. Grilling unlikely things is always a good idea. From grilled pineapple salsa to broccoli with a little salt, pepper and lemon. Potatoes are just as great.

    • RE: Grilling unlikely things…. I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for stopping by.

  37. that looks delicious!

    • Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  38. I just spent a year living in Greece, and if anyone can grill, it’s the Greeks! They throw everything on the grill, from cheese (which brings whole new meaning to the phrase “grilled cheese”) to vegetables and everything in between. So, if you loved this (which it sounds like you did :D) you might check out some Greek recipes too! I’m definitely going to give this a try. Thanks for the recipe!

    • I’m all of a sudden loving those Greeks. 🙂 I’m heading over to your blog right now.

  39. Your grilled sweet potatoes are the end-all-be-all of grilled starch fantasticness. And it doesn’t look that expensive to make, which is a concern of mine. One thing you’re missing? Dessert: http://apocalypsecakes.wordpress.com/2011/08/01/economic-collapse-crumb-cake/

    • You’re absolutely right … I need to make more desserts. 🙂

  40. i only recently discovered sweet potatoes. they always kinda creeped me out…i don’t know if it was color, or texture, or the fact that i associated them more with baby food than anything else. anyway, recently i discovered that i quite enjoy sweet potatoes. and they’re kinda good for me. so i’ll be trying this out! thanks for sharing.
    http://www.icouldntmakethisshitup.wordpress.com

    • Just within the past couple of years have I started enjoying sweet potatoes. I associate them with sickening sweet glop from Thanksgiving Dinners past. Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  41. Oh yum! That looks delicious! I’ve always loved Bobby Flay’s grilling! I definitely want to try this the next time I have sweet potatoes available! Thanks for sharing! I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback 🙂

    • I did check out your blog and am a new subscriber.

  42. sounds amazing! will definitely have to try, maybe with some kebobs!!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I love anything with kebobs. 🙂

  43. Bobby Flay is one of my fave chefs! I find your blog very pleasant.

  44. […] Bobby Flay’s Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Lime and Cilantro […]

  45. Sounds delicious!!! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for stopping by!

  46. This looks delicious , I am always looking for me recipes with sweet potatoes!
    Thanks!

  47. **new

  48. […] Bobby Flay’s Grilled Sweet Potatoes with Lime and Cilantro […]

    • Thanks for the repost! 🙂

  49. Yum!

  50. Just started adding more vegetable to my meals and this one sounds delish. Thanks for sharing!!

    • Thanks for stopping by Silvia and the comment.

  51. yumm… :-9

  52. That sounds really, really, good! And since I’m a fish eating vegetarian (which of course is a fake vegetarian) I’m always looking for new ideas to add to my diet. Thanks, I’m gonna roll out the barby-Q and fire it up. 🙂

    • I love bbq’d veggies and fruits. Fire that thing up. :0

  53. mmmm…i love sweet potatoes, lime and cilantro! looks great!

    • You’re preaching to the choir. 🙂

    • That trio seems like a match made in heaven. Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  54. I have been having a sweet potato attack lately(if there is such a term). I have been adding sweet potatoes to everything. This seems like the perfect foil for sandwiches too which I am making today.

    • Thanks Shil. I agree, sweet potatoes rock.

  55. The photograph looks more appetizing than some of the dishes I’ve seen on Sizzler commericals! Also, the recipe doesn’t seem too complicated. Good for you for trying something new. You can’t go wrong with sweet potatoes!

    • Thanks so much Poetofmidnight. Appreciate your comment and stopping by.

  56. Very Tasty. Thanks for passing this along. I think these would go well slow cooked on the smoker (cherry wood) along with the corn on the cob. Must wrap in foil though.

  57. Oh my gosh this looks wonderful! I am having the in-laws over tomorrow and needed an idea. Thanks, great post!

  58. This looks really good. I’m always on the lookout for new sweet potato recipes.

  59. Simply delicious, I will be making this soon 4sure.

  60. As a pescatarian (basically a vegetarian) I must say………… this looks delicious.

  61. Okay, so I’m reading this and wondering how the heck I missed it . . . then I realized it was published during my blackout week. : / I love this idea! You know I’m crazy about sweet potatoes and grilling them – especially in those nice portions- is such a fabulous idea! Sorry I missed this one. And CONGRATS on making the Freshly Pressed site!! May I have your autograph?? 🙂

    • Love that you’re calling it your “blackout” week. Yes, you can have my autograph. LOL

  62. This recipe looks amazing! I love sweet potato anything and I can’t wait to try this soon!

  63. I grilled some sweet potato wedges a little while ago–I didn’t parcook either, and they cooked through just fine for me. My recipe came from Rick Bayless–just olive oil, s & p on the sweet potatoes. I came up with my own spicy yogurt dipping sauce that I think really added to the dish. Here is the link for my take on grilled sweet potatoes: http://flowercityfoodie.com/2011/07/16/lime-cilantro-chicken-grilled-sweet-potato-wedges/

  64. I just noticed that you were pressed! Woot woot! YAY Colorado amiga! Congrats! Of course you were pressed — great recipe, great photo, great content! Great job!!!

    • Thanks so much Yvette! I feel like such a celebrity. I’m honored, shocked and loving every minute of it. 🙂

  65. I adore sweet potatoes! This looks good enough to eat right off the screen. You know the other great thing about sweet potatoes? I heard a woman on the radio who was celebrating her 100th birthday. She told the interviewer that she gave the credit for her longevity to the fact she ate a sweet potato every single day.

  66. Oooh Yummy, I’ve never had a sweet potatoe. I just happened to buy some today to attempt sweet potatoe fries for my son. We’ve been trying to eat healthier and this recipe sounds like something I will definately try in the future.

  67. Wow! Delicious! Fantastic job! I’m not usually a sweet potato fan, but I do enjoy them when they are crispy (like sweet potato fries) and those look like they have some crunch! I really liked your decision to cut them in a “paddle” form, it’s not bulky and somewhat lures away from the texture of a potato (one of the reasons I don’t like sweet potato is because its sweet flavor has the texture of a potato, which I prefer a potato texture to have a salty flavor not sweet, if this makes sense), it’s thinness detracts from that texture which I like!

    I would like to give this recipe a try one day, the lime and cayenne combination sounds fantastic!

    If you don’t mind, I just started my own blog recently and I would like to post the link along with my comment! It’s http://www.logicmeetsreason.wordpress.com, I invite you and your readers to take a look at it, comment, and subscribe!

  68. Nice share. Never tried grilling potatoes before but I have been grilling sweet potatoes since childhood in my country.

    • I’ll have to take a look at your blog and see what your “take” on grilling sweet potatoes is. Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  69. Interesting recipe and I would love to give it a try

  70. hmmmmm….sounds ever so nice and something to try this summer.

    • I hope you do try it and love it.

  71. When isn’t Bobby Flay’s recipe one of the first hits, and rightfully so. I love his recipes, and you’ve presented it very nicely. Makes me want to lick the screen 🙂 Your photograph is also excellent.

    I was going to put off buying a grill for our new house, but I think that has suddenly changed. I’ve got to try these.

    Mary

  72. oo fancy, that looks awesome, i think i may follow u

  73. and guess what? i just did 🙂 +1 for awesomeness

  74. This one’s going in the meal rotation pronto!
    Thanks!

    • Thanks Savvy Sister. Enjoy

  75. This is such a unique idea! I’ve never grilled potatoes before and I’ve never been a big fan of sweet potatoes either. But these look so good and I know someone who would absolutely love them! Thanks for the post!

  76. Looks Delish! Can’t wait to try it out!

  77. This sounds incredible. I’ve been LOVING sweet potatoes and yams lately. I bet these would go good with plantain…

  78. Would be great withh bbq’d lamb!

  79. This looks delicious! I can’t wait to make it!

  80. mmhhmmm, Looks delicious!! It’ll be my next try for my dinner party:D Thanks for sharing 🙂

  81. I like this article!! It look like delicious food!!

  82. I often make baked sweet potato fries, and have tried frying sweet potato chips once. This seems like the ultimate sweet potato recipe, though. I’m in a small NYC apartment, and am grill-less. I think I’m going to try it when I visit relatives in the midwest later this month (Dad has a massive grill).

    Also, as a fellow food blogger, I’m impressed! I’m subscribing right now.

    • Thanks for stopping by and subscribing. Heading over to your blog to take a look.

  83. looks really delicious! yammie yammie!

    • Love the “yammie yammie”. Thanks for stopping by and the comment

  84. I can’t wait to try this recipe!!

    • Thanks for stopping by. Hope you enjoy them.

  85. I never thought of grilling potatoes but that sounds great for a summer bbq.

    • I hadn’t either until last summer. Love them now.

  86. Sounds and looks amazing! I can’t wait to try these out!

  87. yiammy
    http://rodposse.com/


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

