No Recipe Required: Fresh Sweet Corn with Avocado and Cilantro

July 22, 2011 at 2:29 pm | Posted in Mexican/Southwest, No recipe required, Quick and Easy, Vegetables | 34 Comments
Tags: , , ,

  • Fresh sweet corn from three ears of corn
  • Place in a microwave safe bowl, sprinkle with salt and pepper and top with a pat of butter
  • Microwave for one minute
  • Top with sliced avocado, chopped cilantro and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes

Fresh Sweet Corn with Avocado and Cilantro….It’s What’s for a Summer Side Dish.

34 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. And no heating the whole kitchen by preheating the oven. Perfect!

  2. Yum!

  3. Glad you’re finally getting corn – our last patch is about ready.

    • As pitiful as it was, I even picked my first tomato last night….hail pocked and all. 🙂

  4. This looks so good. I am in corn heaven. Now, if the Hatch chilies will hurry up we will have lots of goodies to eat around here. I can’t make the next meet up or probably the next so me, you and Kisten will have to make a date for a glass of wine, a plate of sushi or both!

    • I miss seeing both of you! Yes, let’s plan a gathering.

  5. When the corn is really fresh and sweet, I like to eat it raw. Hope you are good, it has been a long time. I’m thinking we need a field trip this next month.

    • I’m always up for a field trip.

  6. These are some of my favorite ingredients so I know that this must be a killer non-recipe!

    • I liked the combination Joanne. Avocado and corn really worked well together.

  7. As you-know-who would say, how easy is that? I’ve never cooked corn in a microwave. Sounds like a delightful and easy idea.
    Sam

    • I love “you know who’s” saying! Before microwaves were invented, I always boiled corn. Now I micro. I’ve never grilled it. Will give it a try this summer.

  8. Perfect, Lea Ann. We LOVE fresh corn and this is the time for it!

  9. Hooray for fresh corn season!! This looks and sounds delicious – the addition of cilantro got my attention. Very nice.

    • Thanks Vickie! I agree, HOOfrickinRAY. Isn’t that cilantro a pitiful sight? It’s from a pot on my deck and with all the heat, it really is not doing well. Time to buy at the store again. At least the taste was there….barely. 🙂

      • LOL – just looked at the pitiful cilantro – that stuff is such a PAIN to grow. It’s good for about 5 minutes then it bolts or dies. 😀 I’ve started poking seeds in the ground in random beds about once a week. I can usually find a pinch or two somewhere. I also let it go to seed here and there, clip the seed heads and put them in the garage to dry . . . so I can poke them in the ground here and there. Martha friggin Stewart. I need an intervention.

  10. Aw, heck yes…great dish.

    • Thanks Dan! Seems like forever since I’ve seen you guys!

  11. How can you go wrong with those ingredients. I will make that for a tailgate party if we ever have a football season.

    • Please don’t say “if”. 🙂

  12. This sounds simple and delicious!

    • And that’s exactly what it was. 🙂

  13. This is pure summer perfection as far as I’m concerned. 😉

  14. And we are getting the BEST sweet corn right now… Dozen ears every week for Jakie and me till at least Labor Day!

    Saving all these corn recipes!

    • I love sweet corn season … tomato season … green bean season … but mostly sweet corn season. 🙂

  15. Mmmmm. I’ve put this on my wishlist for a dish to take to our next Shakespeare festival evening picnic 🙂 Looks perfect!

  16. Nothing does sound better than fruit and greens on these scorching days. Love it.

    Velva

    P.S. You always have such great recipes.

    • Back at-cha Velva! 🙂

  17. I love summer sweet corn! It doesn’t need much help does it?

    • Couldn’t agree more Chris.

  18. Now this is my kind of meal! Thanks for the great ideas.
    -Linda


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

