Arugula, Cantaloupe and Avocado Salad with Spicy Lime Vinaigrette

July 24, 2011 at 9:52 am | Posted in Fruit, Salad Dressings, Salads | 44 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

With soaring temperatures and our famous Rocky Ford Cantaloupe just hitting our markets does anything sound better than a fresh salad of fruit, greens, a citrus vinaigrette with a kick and topped with a creamy avocado? No way to describe this but simply delicious. You’ll notice I didn’t have any avocado on hand but did have some hearts of palm that made an impressive stand-in appearance.  Want to make it a main course?  Just add some shrimp that’s been cooked and cooled…like you’d prepare for shrimp cocktail. Thanks to Fresh and Foodie for posting this recipe.  Let’s take a look.

Arugula, cantaloupe and Avocado Salad with Spicy Lime Vinaigrette (adapted from Fresh and Foodie):
• 5 ounces arugula, washed and spun dry
• 2 cups cubed seedless watermelon (I used cantaloupe)
• 1 avocado, cubed
• 1/8 cup extra virgin olive oil
• The juice of 1 lime
• 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
• Salt and freshly ground pepper

1. In a large salad bowl, toss the arugula and watermelon. Set aside.
2. In a medium bowl, whisk together olive oil, lime juice, cayenne pepper and salt and pepper to taste. Add cubed avocado to the vinaigrette and toss very (very!) gently. This step prevents the avocado from browning in the salad.
3. Add vinaigrette and avocado to the salad bowl and lightly toss to combine. Top salad with freshly cracked pepper before serving.

Arugula, cantaloupe and Avocado Salad with Spicy Lime Vinaigrette…It’s What’s for a Dinner Salad.

44 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love how colorful it is. It even matches your website. Great recipe and photo too. I love cool dishes in the summer.

    • Hey thank you, didn’t even notice it matched my blog. 🙂

  2. I am no fan of melon, but I like arugala —and LOVE cayenne!

    • Russ, have you ever had one of our Colorado Rocky Ford Melons???? Just sayin. 🙂

  3. Mmmmmm… I love a good citrus vinagrette. I like the chile in this one. It should be a lovely dinner salad after a day of painting ’round the house. Thanks for a yummy post!

    • Good to hear from you Liz. Hope you’re staying cool.

  4. This does sounds delicious but I would have to leave out the cayenne–I’m allergic to it, which sucks since I love it.

    • Oh no, allergic to cayenne? Bummer. Good to hear from you.

  5. Love the idea of using cantaloupe! Thanks for the link back, too.

    • You’re so welcome and thanks for such a great recipe.

  6. Looks wonderful! I, for one, would love to try your Rocky Ford melons.

    • I do believe you’re going to get that opportunity. Season will be in full swing by the time you’re here.

  7. I grew up thinking cantaloupe was awful (can you believe that?) and only recently came to love them completely. Especially when they’re in season and sugar sweet. This salad looks and sounds like a great combination! Every ingredient is great and I really like the idea of cayenne and melon. Of course you know I’d add some lime oil to that dressing. 😛

    • Now why the heck didn’t I think about that lime oil?

  8. Love it Lea Ann. Perfect for the summertime heat. Really like the color combination of the cantaloupe and the avocado. Rufus is right. It does match your blog.
    Sam

    • Thanks Sam. I think we’re all thinking “cool” dishes right now.

  9. I don’t understand how so many people can complain about the heat when the hot sunny weather is responsible for such bounty. This delicious salad is full of my favorites. Thanks for another delicous recipe.

    • I completely agree Karen.

  10. I’m on an arugula kick right now and use it in all my salads. Its the perfect green for a tangy vinaigrette. Love the addition of cantaloupe and avocado – what a great summer salad.

    • Thanks Cathy. The arugula kick must have swept nation wide. I’m loving it.

  11. Lea Ann, email me when you get a chance, I didn’t see your email address on your blog. Mine is on my blog. Thanks! Katherine

  12. This is such a beautiful salad. The colors drawn you in but the wonderful flavors keep you there. It really is a perfect summer salad. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Why thank you Mary. I appreciate that. Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  13. I’m trying to imagine the flavor of cantaloupe mixed with lime, and you know – it DOES sound delicious!

    • I think anything mixed with lime sounds good. Thanks Joanne! 🙂

  14. This sounds and looks very good. I like the idea of adding the shrimp. Honeydews may also work well here with just a touch of cilantro, but you know me and the cilantro.

    • I think any type of melon would work here. Well, you know me and the cilantro …. I can’t believe I didn’t add any to this.

  15. I bought a cantaloupe yesterday too. 🙂 There’s a lovely bite in your vinaigrette, what with the lime and cayenne. Bet it’s great with the spicy arugula and sweet cantaloupe. Definitely will be trying this!

    • Thanks Barbara! Hope you enjoy the combination.

  16. I love the kick of cayenne with the sweet cantaloupe. This is a refreshing salad. You’re right that shrimp would really turn it into a light meal. Nice!

  17. oh my … that’s picture perfect and summerific.

    love a little bit of chili in my lime and other summer fruits.

    what’s also good is the Savory Spice Homestead spice. it’s a mix of chili powders with honey powder, and i believe mustard along with other spices. lots of chili flavor but not hot at all, so the kids love it.

    cheers!

    • Thanks! I’ll be over there today and will pick some up!

  18. I love the sound of the cantaloupe and arugula together. I’ll be sure to add some avocado too!

    • I had this salad again last night. So good.

  19. I just saw some melons in the farmers market today. You had to fill out a credit applicatino to afford them.

    • Well….interest rates are low

  20. I have to go light on arugula because the bitter flavor can be overpowering to me. But I do like it in a spring mix.

    • I agree Chris, but I think if you get it paired with just the right flavors, that bitterness can compliment a dish. I’m learning to love Arugula.

  21. Hai Dear

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog… You have so many wonderful recipes..I have bookmarked you blog and some recipe from that to try..Please check out my blog.I am having a Giveaway in my blog..Please check it out and partcipate in that..
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com/2011/07/homemade-bounty-chocolate-and-giveaway.html

    Aarthi

  22. made this last night. added grill pork loin. delish!

    • Love..love..love that idea! Will try it next time I make it.

  23. This sounds absolutely delightful! It’s on my list to make. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

