Micky Duffy’s Pineapple Sheet Cake

July 31, 2011 at 5:53 am | Posted in dessert | 44 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I got the recipe from our friends Greg and Cauleen who got the recipe from Greg’s cousin Jimmy’s wife, Lisa, who got the recipe from her 2nd cousin’s wife Micky Duffy who brought it to Lisa’s bridal shower 29 years ago. Each invitee to that shower was asked to bring their favorite recipe to share with the bride-to-be. Which by the way, isn’t that a wonderful idea?

Jimmy and Lisa live in Missouri and visit Greg and Cauleen each Summer. This photo of them was taken on a day trip to Vail.  During their visit, we were invited over to Greg and Cauleen’s for what I thought was to be an innocent afternoon meal,  meet cousins Jimmy and Lisa, and enjoy your normal run of the mill pot luck food, only to find myself blindsided by a couple of fabulous food discoveries. A bottle of the best BBQ sauce I’ve ever tasted which was a Missouri souvenir they brought to Greg. And this delicious cake that Lisa prepared for the pot luck, which upon my first bite had me begging for the recipe…and I don’t even like cake.

First let’s talk about Blues Hog barbecue sauce that hails from Perry, Missouri. An original recipe created by Bill Arnold, the Pit Master and Chef of the Blues Hog Cookers.  Their website tells me that the formula is award-winning and made from the highest quality sugars and spices in a way which sets their standards high above other commercial sauces. It contains no preservatives, is low in calories and contains no fat. The sauce has been successful in winning many competitions and is being sold and shipped all over the United States and  foreign countries.

To me the flavor was a perfect blend of spicy and sweet and as their web site says “sticks to your meat”. I can’t remember what Greg grilled, but I most certainly remember how good that sauce tasted.

Barbecue schmarbecue…let’s take a look at this cake.

Not only did Lisa serve up this delicious cake, but just happened to have with her the original hand written recipe that was given to her 29 years ago. A food blogger’s dream come true. You really should give recipe this a try. It’s a super easy cake to make and with a can of crushed pineapple, incredibly moist and dense. When topped with that cream cheese, pecan frosting, every bite is divine and addicting.

Thanks to Lisa for sharing this with me, it’s now my go-to “wow them” recipe.  And believe me there’s a reason Micky Duffy underlined “very good’

Micky Duffy’s Pineapple Sheet Cake…It’s What’s for Dessert.

44 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love these kind of recipes, with all sorts of memories and love attached.

  2. Love the old recipe card Lea Ann! If you recall I published some from my grandmother’s recipe box over the holidays. There is something so charming to see a recipe captured on a real card. I think those days are over so thanks for giving us the virtual version for the cake!

    • I do remember that Tony. Loved that post.

  3. Yum, that sounds fantastic. And I do love the idea of sharing your favorite recipe with a bride-to-be…that’s as it should be 😉 I do love the “vintage” recipe card/paper. I’ll be trying this!

    • OH! And can I just say… OLEO! That reminds me of the majority of my grandma’s recipe cards. 😀

      • All of my mom’s old recipes instruct to use Oleo. I haven’t googled it but assume it was the first commercially offered “margarine”. Obviously I used butter.

    • I like that idea too. And Nancy’s comment had the addition of an ingredient to go with the recipe gift.

  4. Mmmm. *1st * – this looks like something you should make for out of town visitors 🙂

    2nd – 32 years ago my grandmother and aunt threw a recipe bridal shower for me. They supplied a recipe box “Nancy’s Recipes”, and the guests were asked to bring a recipe, and one ingredient needed to make the recipe. So in addition to the recipes, I was given food, as well as kitchen utensils that several people brought as well. I believe the centerpiece included several wooden spoons.

    Of course – as my friends know – I don’t cook. 🙂 But I always thought it was a great idea – and it was a fun shower. Thanks for the memory! Now go back and read my first comment above, LA. 😉

    • That’s a good idea Nancy, I think I’ll make it for our next visitors. I think it sounds like great high altitude food.

      I like the idea of bringing an ingredient to go with the recipe. Too bad you don’t still have all those recipes. It would be fun to look at them.

      • I believe we still have them. I’ll have to look. I don’t think we have the ingredients however. At least hope we don’t!!
        And btw, YEA!!

      • If you can, bring them with.

  5. My favorite BBQ sauce is Gate’s — my town’s greatest accomplishment!

    • Isn’t Gates a well known BBQ place in KC?

  6. Are you jealous? I can buy Blues Hog off the grocery store shelf here in Knoxville! Finally, I have something Tony’s doesn’t lol.

    The original is Alexis and the kids favorite, it’s way too sweet for me. I like cutting it 50/50 with their Tennessee Red for ribs.

    • I am Jealous as all get-out Chris. I have to wait for Jimmy and Lisa to bring it, or order it.

  7. This post is a reminder of how recipes used to be shared – handwritten. Besides the notecard or colorful stationary it was written on, the handwriting and side notes made it so personal. The ingredient list took be back – it’s been a long time since I’ve seen a recipe with “oleo.” Thanks for sharing your find.

    • I’ve got my mom’s recipe collection, so see that word over and over.

  8. Fabulous, fabulous post! I’m in love with that recipe card and the underlined words at the bottom. The ones I have that are spattered with food and have underlined comments are the best of the best. 🙂 (one of those is LA’s Potato Salad, btw) When Dana and I got engaged, his mother gave me a stack of handwritten recipes that the family always make at gatherings. They’re treasures. LOL about Nancy’s comment. I’m going to need photos of the festivities, ladies. 😉

    • Vicki – I think we would have to tie LA down to KEEP her from taking photos!! 😉

      • Yup, I’m a picture takin fool these days. 🙂

    • Those recipes that Dana’s mother gave you are wonderful. I’d love to look through them.

  9. I love the recipe card, it feels authentic.

  10. Looks wonderful. There’s just something about a handwritten recipe!

  11. I am familiar with a recipe very similar to this one. My husband’s secretary used to make a cake like this and passed the recipe on to my bachelor husband who made it for me before we were married. That may just be one reason I married him.

    • I had a sneaky feeling you’d be familiar with this one. It’s just such a Missouri/Kansas/Texas kind of thing. 🙂

  12. I’ve got a very old recipe card notebook thing with hand written recipes that are up 40 years old…I may make them and put them online but I keep those cards too; just can’t get rid of something with so many memories.

    I’m from Missouri but not familiar with the sauce. Wondering if it’s mail order only, would be fun to try some.

    The cake must be good for you to like it!

    • No, don’t get rid of those cards. I agree, too many memories.

  13. Love the idea AND the sheet cake. I’m going to remember the recipe idea for a bridal shower.
    Sam

  14. Such a cute post, Lea Ann! I love that you’ve made a copy of the original recipe. My old ones are usually so messy I can’t read them! 🙂 Yours is in great shape!
    Back in the 50’s someone had a kitchen bridal shower for me and everyone brought their favorite recipes. I still have some of them! Such a fun idea. Old ideas are often the best…if indeed we can remember them.

    I’m loving this sheet cake. Does it have the flavor of an upside down cake? One of my favorites.

    • Barbara, I’m a fan of pineapple upside down cake also. Yes, it’s similar, but with the nuts and that cream cheese frosting, it’s a different experience.

  15. This recipe looks like a real treasure. Love the old one that people lovingly pass from one friend to another. I have a family gathering coming up and think this well be perfect. Thanks for passing it on, Lea Ann. I’m looking forward to trying it.

    • Thanks Cathy! It’s a good recipe…and so easy.

  16. I can testify to this cake being a winner (and I’m not a big cake lover, either). I’ve been making this cake for 30 years. I call it “Chanda’s Cake” because, of course, I got the recipe from Chanda!

    • I love your comment. I always name recipes after those who first served them to me. I wish I would have had this recipe 30 years ago.

  17. I love your site! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  18. Thank you, Lea Ann, for featuring my cake in your blog. I still remember the day of my bridal shower when I received this recipe from my Aunt. As you can see, I have used it many, many times. (sorry for the food stains!) It has always been requested at family and holiday dinners for the past thirty years. I now have the priviledge to pass it on to my daughters as well. I hope others will enjoy it as much as we have! Sorry we missed you on our last trip out. Hope to see you soon!

  19. ooh I love that you have a handwritten copy of the recipe! I will sure give it a try!

  20. I sure wish I could sample that BBQ sauce but the cake recipe sounds like the next best thing! Love the old recipe card.

    • Thanks for stopping by, and yes, that Cake is goooo-od! 🙂

  21. Reminds me of one of my grandmother’s recipe cards. Very nice. Thanks for sharing. Glad you like Blues Hog. I love the stuff. If you get a chance also try Sticky Pig from the same area. Their regular is great and their jalapeno and mustard are worth a try as well. I make a version that’s kind of a combination of the two that I call Sticky Hog that I like a lot.

    • I will Dave! Thanks for the information.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

