Goat Cheese, Mushroom, Caper and Anchovie Bruschetta…Summer Tapas Dinner Menu, continued

August 23, 2011 at 7:50 am | Posted in Appetizers | 33 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Love this recipe!!! Goat cheese smeared bread topped with sautéed shiitake mushrooms, briney capers and anchovies…provacative and packed full of flavor. And did I mention easy?

This was the next platter to find its way to the back deck for my Summer Tapas Dinner. Thanks to Greg and Katherine over at Rufous’ Food and Spirits Guide for sharing this wonderful idea. You’ve got to give this one a try. It’s one of those oh-for-pitty-sake good combos. It’s now in my database as a favorite. While you’re at their blog, take a look around. Tons of great recipes and really nice photography.

Before we get to the recipe let’s take a look at some of the water features in Rocky Mountain National Park. It’s just short of a 2 1/2 hour drive northwest of our house. We are so fortunate to have such a jaw dropping, spectacular, pristine piece of our country in our back yard. We make a trip to RMNP at least once each summer and I’m always in awe of its grandeur.

Moose Pond.  Our cabin was on this pond.

Nautical Neal, our pontoon boat ride on Grand Lake and Shadow Mountain Lake

Heading under the bridge on our way from Shadow Mountain Lake to Grand Lake

Nancy and me, enjoying the ride.

View of Lake Irene from our picnic table, Milner Pass, Continental Divide, Rocky Mountain National Park

View of Grand Lake from our dinner on the porch at Grand Lake Lodge.

Mushrooms with Capers and Anchovies

  • 4-6 shiitake mushrooms stems diced caps sliced thin
  • 8-10 anchovy fillets minced (I used half that amount, 4 if I remember right)
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 2 tbsp salted capers washed and chopped
  • 2 tbsp dry vermouth
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • Salt/pepper

Melt 1 tbsp butter with 1 tbsp olive oil in a frying pan and saute mushrooms until browned. Add anchovies and garlic and cook until the fish liquifies. Add capers and parsley and cook on medium for a minute more. Add vermouth and deglaze pan. Season with salt and pepper. Serve with crusty bread slices covered in a layer of goat cheese.

Goat Cheese, Mushroom, Caper and Anchovie Bruschetta…It’s What’s for Tapas.

33 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I loved this dish! And I’m not an anchovie or caper lover. But this was delicious…a favorite! Great photos! LOL about Nautical Neal!

    • After all these years I’ve know you, I had no idea you didn’t like capers … or olives. Sheesh! 🙂

      • It was a well kept secret ;). I’m open to them when mixed with other things and loved this dish!

  2. What a view…stunning! I love all of the bold flavors in this, I know I’d adore this 😀

  3. I LOVE fun variations on bruschetta…especially if they involve goat cheese and capers! Yum. And what gorgeous photos!

    • Thanks Joanne! 🙂

  4. We backpacked RMNP a lifetime ago and had a wonderful time. Really need to get back there. Love the bruschetta recipe!

    • Thanks Dave. I’ve never back packed it, but always run into many many folks on the trail that do. Always fun to talk with them, they’re so ready to talk about their experiences.

  5. Sounds absolutely fantastic…especially with shiitake mushrooms.

    • Thanks so much for the comment. It’s really good. Please note that I didn’t use 10 anchovy filets. I have made a change to the original post.

  6. Sounds nice and salty too — love that!

    • Salty yes. But with the vermouth and the goat cheese the flavors really blend nicely into a nice earthy treat.

  7. Gorgeous view and food!

  8. I’d say “a jaw dropping, spectacular, pristine piece of our countr”‘ looks pretty accurate from here – thanks for sharing the photos. I went on Google Earth to have a look at the area – looks really nice but coulndn’t find Moose Pond. With all of the flavorful toppings on the bruschetta, I could maybe even slip the goat cheese by Bev.

    • You’re welcome Larry. I really feel the goat cheese is a must. It’s a calming agent for all that crazy flavor.

  9. That appetizer sounds like a party in your mouth! 😛 I know I’d love it with all those fabulous ingredients. And the scenery?? GORGEOUS!! You took some amazing photos. The view from lodge is spectacular. Also, I love the shot of you and Nancy. Always fun to see your smiling face!

    • Thanks Vickie! You’ve been to a lot of those places along Trail Ridge Road. It’s just a fabulous drive.

  10. Wow, the dishes and the scenery are unbelievably good Lea Ann. Can’t wait to try those appetizers.
    Sam

  11. Lovely photos and a delicious looking recipe. Your post makes me realize that we just don’t spend enough time in the mountains.

    • Thanks so much Karen. We try to get to the high country every chance we can … as long as it’s summer. 🙂

  12. Absolutely gorgeous pictures! The bruschetta sounds like it’d be just up my alley… bookmarking it now 🙂

  13. This looks just amazing! Love the splash of vermouth. Also, thanks for the shout out. I’ve been traveling and Internet time and connections have been spottty!

    • Thanks for the idea for the recipe Greg! Loved this.

  14. The only problem I see with this recipe is that it looks like you only made enough for one serving … if that one person is me! Cheers!

  15. Really beautiful…looks so relaxing! Love the bruschetta too, yum!

    • That bruschetta was killer! It’s a great recipe.

  16. Green with envy, what absolutely beautiful photographs. Capers and anchovies, I bet those did have a salty bite (in a good way!). That topping sounds like it would be an amazing stuffing for a grilled stuffed chicken breast (rolled up kiev style).

    • I’m loving that stuffed chicken breast idea Chris. Great idea.

  17. […] One Year Ago:  Ancho Chile Sauce […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

