Braised Chicken with Lemon, Potatoes and Olives

September 3, 2011 at 3:42 pm | Posted in Chicken | 45 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

We love braised chicken dishes at our house and with my cast iron skillet as my partner, I can’t go wrong. It perfectly and quickly places a crispy brown crust on the chicken skin.Then it’s high sides snuggle ingredients and sauces together to simmer the flavors into a delicious savory goodness.

Let’s take a look at some of the braised chicken dishes I’ve blogged about:

Chicken Marengo:  Flavored with raisins, carrots, tomatoes, black olives in a sweet tangy basil and rosemary sauce. Exciting.

Tarragon Chicken: Simply a tarragon tomato sauce.  Savory.

Sticky Lips Chicken: White wine, scallions in a veal demi glace. Omg.

And Chicken Galliano:  Mushrooms and goat cheese and simmered in a anise flavored liqueur.  Divine.

Thanks to Martha for our latest braised chicken dinner. The chicken soaks up and delivers soft lemony goodness. Accompanied with a bite of briny olives, smooth potato cubes, and topped with fresh sprigs of thyme, it’s a delicious one-skillet meal.

Martha Stewart’s Braised Chicken with Lemon, Potatoes and Olives:

  • 2 1/4 pounds bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • Coarse salt
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/4 cups chicken stock
  • 12 ounces baby fingerling potatoes or halved small potatoes
  • 5 garlic cloves, smashed and peeled
  • 1/2 cup green olives, such as Cerignola, pitted if desired
  • 1 small lemon, washed well, cut into wedges
  • 6 thyme sprigs
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Season chicken with salt. Heat a large, heavy ovenproof skillet (preferably cast iron) over medium-high heat. Swirl in oil. Cook chicken, skin side down, until browned, about 5 minutes. Flip chicken, and push to side of skillet. Add 1 cup stock and  1/2 teaspoon salt. Add potatoes to liquid. Bring to a boil. Add garlic, olives, lemon wedges, and thyme to liquid. Return to a boil.
  2. Transfer skillet to oven. Roast, stirring potatoes halfway through, until potatoes are tender and chicken is cooked through, about 30 minutes.
  3. Return skillet to stove. Mix cornstarch with remaining  1/4 cup stock, and stir into pan. Bring to a boil to thicken sauce. Serve immediately.

Braised Chicken with Lemon, Potatoes and Olives…It’s What’s For Dinner.

45 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So good to see this round up. This dish is just wonderful looking.

  2. This looks delicious!

    • It was indeed a full flavored tasty dish. Thanks for stopping by and the comment.

  3. Sounds perfect for the Autumn I hope is almost here.

    • Sending it your way Russ. Pretty chili here this a.m.

  4. Oh, Lea Ann, you made my mouth water while just reading the title. Chicken thighs are my favorite part of the chicken. They are all mine at my house, since everybody else fights for the breast meat. I love the addition of the olives. Great dish!!

    • I agree Kirsten. You won’t find me grabbing for anything except thighs.

  5. What have you done with my friend Lea Ann? This is not Mexican at all!

    If she’s visiting Greece, that’s good too..love the sound of this dish. I have a recipe for lemon mashed potatoes; they are so good together.

    • Too funny Barb. Actually I was pouring through my Rick Bayless cookbooks just yesterday for some inspiration. 🙂 Love the idea of lemon mashed potatoes.

  6. We’ve had two citrusy chicken dishes this week and this is another I know I’d love – especially with the olives. We enjoyed the chicken galliano some time back – still waiting for you to post some more recipes to help us use up the galliano :-).

    • I drank mine … tee hee. Actually I made the Chicken Galliano about three times.

  7. We love braised chicken dishes too, especially chicken Marengo. Love the lemon in this dish. Braising reminds me of fall, which is just around the corner. Thanks for the round-up – all are winners!
    Sam

    • Fall feels like “now” here. I think it’s in the 40’s this a.m.

  8. the salty tangy combination of the lemon and olives sounds like heaven to me! I’d definitely be drinking whatever sauce there was out of the pan.

    • That sauce is definitely drinkable. 🙂

  9. This looks so delicious. My kind of dish! LOVE the flavors here! I am going to pin it.

    • Thanks Donna. We liked it a lot.

  10. This looks really delicious Lea Ann. We too love chicken around here. The addition of lemon and olives just sounds great. My friend Karen in the UK turned me on to a Jamie Oliver recipe for Sticky Chicken Thighs with Tomatoes and Potatoes that we are addicted to. I may just have to change things up for my family and give this one try.

    • I have to have that Jamie Oliver recipe. If I can’t find it, I will hunt you down for it. 🙂

  11. This reminds me of an Algerian dish I ate once in Paris and loved; it used preserved lemons and green olives. This one is a lot easier to make and I am sure delicious as well!

    • I have yet to try preserved lemons. Good to hear from you Joumana.

  12. This sounds great! I love the combination of the citrus and vinegary olive flavor. Don’t we love and count on Martha?! Hope you are having a great long weekend.

    • A couple of my favorite recipes have come from Martha.

  13. The olives make this one for me. Their briny flavor makes my mouth water.

    • I agree Chris. That and the chicken … and the thyme …and there’s that lemon thing.:)

  14. Looks delish, Lea Ann. Your chicken galliano recipe is sitting on my kitchen counter waiting for me to shop for the ingredients. I love meals like this because the leftovers are so good too.

    • Absolutely Cathy! Love leftovers. I hope you like the C.Galliano as much as we did.

  15. This sounds DELICIOUS! All those chicken dishes do! (I love Mr. Cast Iron too!) Love lemons and thyme in anything!

    • I’m getting ready to make another skillet chicken recipe that was passed along from a friend after she read my post. It actually sounds even better. It’s a Jamie Oliver recipe….so stay tuned. 🙂

  16. So very delicious. Again proof that it does not take a lot of ingredients to make a wonderful dish. The flavors here are wonderful.

    Velva

    • Thanks Velva! 🙂

  17. There are certain things that HAVE to be made in a cast iron skillet. I have several sizes and adore them. Great combo in your chicken dish; I don’t think anything’s better with chicken than lemon.

    • I only have the one pan Barbara, but next trip to Army Surplus will have me bringing more sizes home.

  18. You know we love chicken and this looks fantastic! We would have to omit the olives, but other than that, this is perfect!

    We are roasting a whole chicken tonight – using the brine and rub from The Ritz Carlton cooking school I went to a few weeks ago.

    • I loved those posts from that Ritz Carlton cooking school. All of the food looked fabulous. So sorry you’d have to omit the olives for this recipe… however that lemon chicken and potatoes are delicious.

  19. Hi Lea Ann. Looks gorgeous! I love braised chicken too, especially with wine.

  20. This looks absolutely delicious! I love the combination of lemon and thyme. This would make a very tasty dinner.

    • Good to hear from you Biren. And thanks! 🙂

  21. I was so sad the first time I tried chicken with lemon. Sad because I didn’t realize what I’d been missing for so long! Martha comes up with a good recipe every now and again, doesn’t she? 😉

    • Couldn’t agree more Karen. I remember the first time I roasted a chicken with lemons inside and zest and oil all over the skin. Fabulous.

  22. We’re dining out with friends tonight and if this were on the menu, I’d order it! It sounds so delicious – I can’t wait to try it soon.

    • Thanks Susan. I really look forward to making it again…and again. 🙂

  23. Not so sure I can promise to only make this in the summer …

    Cheers!

    • You don’t have to promise! But do try it with fresh tomatoes. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

